We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Gettysburg”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a great 2 day stay at the James Getty. DH, son and I arrived around dinner time and were checked in quickly with yummy cookies and bread awaiting us. Had dinner at Blue and Grey first night, Dobbins second night. Lord Nelson's room was by comfortable and quiet. Good fit for our family. Perfect location for walking downtown and then touring battlefield. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZEDGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed hosting your family's visit to Gettysburg!
I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and the baked goods. We love showcasing Adams County's wonderful produce and always appreciate hearty appetites!

Please come see us again!
Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 391 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The James Gettys Hotel was perfect in every way. The room was absolutely adorable, the breakfasts were great and the staff was so friendly. You couldn't ask for a better location- within walking distance of almost everything and less than 10 minutes from Gettysburg visitors center. There was some fantastic food nearby, and A&A shop down the street was darling. As my husband would confirm, I am a clean freak and don't usually feel comfortable in hotels. However, this room was so clean, even I was happy. This trip was with a girlfriend, but I'm hoping to go back with my husband soon, and would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you so, so much for your review!

I think we all feel as though we have earned a badge of honor by having our housekeeping efforts praised by a self-proclaimed clean freak!!! I'm sure I can speak for the rest of the staff when I say that we all like to feel comfortable on our own travels and want to extend the same confidence-in-comfort to our guests.

We hope to see you and your family soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a second trip to The James Gettys for my husband and I, but my daughter LOVES history too so we brought her for a birthday weekend treat. The rooms are very comfortable, cozy, and clean. She loved her day bed in the living space the the kitchen area each time is a nice bonus. The coffee and tea as well as the evening snacks and continental breakfasts were fabulous and fresh. We also enjoyed the hotel shaped chocolates! The hotel is in the center of town within walking distance of many attractions and restaraunts, as well as a short drive to the battlefield.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medic9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights the second weekend in March at the James Gettys in the Majestic Suite, a Christmas gtift from our daughter and her guy. We had a wonderful stay, amazing accomodations, fresh, lovely continental breakfast and amazing staff. The Majestic Suite truly lives up to its namem we only wish we could have stayed longer. Garry Owen Irish Pub down the street and the Dobbin House are a must for meals. The Gettysburg Battlefield Museum and Cycloram are amazing as well as a visit to the Eisenhower Home is a must.

Room Tip: The Majestic Suite is the largest the James Gettys offers and is well worth it if you are going to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetSue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The perfect weekend away hotel and perhaps the perfect hotel for a week away as well. Our suite had cooking, refrigerator, and cosy comfort for two. All enhanced by the delightful complimentary fresh baked goods, made in the kitchen on the first floor. We will stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 773stevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here Friday and Saturday 2/21 and 2/22. The hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Gettysburg. There are plenty of restaurants, shopping and attractions to choose from in walking distance. We stayed in the John Troxell suite facing the street. This suite had a spacious sitting area with kitchen stocked with coffee and tea and full size refrigerator. The complimentary snacks of cheese, muffins, bread, fruit, cookies and OJ were all excellent. The suite also had a comfortable bedroom. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel also has a convenient parking area behind the building. The hotel also provides WIFI and cable.

,

Room Tip: Room facing the street have some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ondlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were fortunate to stay at this hotel over the a long Martin Luther King holiday in 2014. We were looking to go skiing at Liberty and the hotels there were booked. This hotel was only 13 miles from the mountain so we gave it a try. What a treat! Upon our arrival, we entered the front door were we were greeted by friendly staff. It felt very cozy and charming! Our large suite was ready to go and waiting in our room was a lovely plate of fresh fruit and cheeses for snack, and fresh juice, cream and pastries for the morning. I loved the kitchenette, it came in handy during our stay. The Tuesday we were there, a large snow storm hit. We were able to get out and go skiing, but the staff made sure when we got back we had fresh baked cookies and hot chocolate to warm our chilled bones. Thanks Catrina for taking such good care of us! Location is also great. Easy to experience the History that surrounds the hotel and plenty of places to eat locally. We were able to walk to the local Blue & Grey bar for drinks and dinner several times. Great burgers! Can't wait to go back! Thanks again

Room Tip: We had The Sign of the Buck Suite. 3 Floor - easy access of the elevator but also easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitelion1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: $106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing