We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Morrice
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived a few hours early before check in, they said room was ready and checked us in. The woman even asked us if we needed help with our luggage, we didn't. She gave us a tour of place and room. We were pleasantly surprised, it had a 2 burner stove,microwave, large refrigerator. There was a sitting room with HDTV and dish network. The bedroom was nice size which was great we had 2 large suitcases and 2 duffers, so there was plenty room to store them without tripping over them. There was a tall dresser, a end table with 2 drawers, and a armoire to hang jackets and shirts. Plus iron board and iron. The bathroom consisted of a stand up shower, pedestal sink and toilet. The view was Main Street of Gettysburg. Each night they brought up a basket of fresher cooked bread/muffins, fruit and juice, along with 2 nice size pieces of chocolate,along with fresh ground coffee, for your morning. Only 2 minor things that I can say 1- parking is in rear of building with no back door into hotel, you have 2 walk between hotel and Bistro's sitting area, but they do have a temporary parking spot in front to unload and load your luggage. You will need to place parking paper on dashboard when parking in rear lot, this was a minor issue and should not have any impact on your stay here. The other minor issue was WiFi access was really bad, but we were on 3rd floor so they may have attributed to it, but your on vacation right? Do you really need WiFi internet? Oh yeah place has elevator so do not worry climbing stairs unless you want to. Highly recommend this place to stay, If our travels have us going back through Gettysburg we would definitely stay here again, and encourage anyone to stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay in the City Hotel Suite! I would like to announce that we have made improvements to our Wi-Fi system and most, if not all, of the kinks have been worked out. Our IT tech spoke with admiration of our building and said that historic buildings like ours were “built like tanks”, which was a big challenge in bumping our signal to the higher floors. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
212
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family & I booked two rooms for a single night (mid week) & wish we had been able to stay for longer.

The James Gettys hotel is a wonderful place to stay, right in the centre of town. Very friendly & helpful staff/owners who are more than happy to help with any queries.

The rooms were delightful & larger than what we expected. Given the rich history of the hotel, James Gettys really has the perfect atmosphere for a short stay in Gettysburg.

We hope to stay here again at some point in the next 12 months.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezmaerelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I’m so glad your family had the chance to stay with us even though it was only for the night. We look forward to your next stay and are happy to help you plan any details for your upcoming trip!
Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

James Gettys hotel renovated in the early 20th century has the decor,ambience of the mid nineteenth century with modern conveniences of the 21st century.The staff provide a friendly welcome that enhances the warmth and comfort of that era. Stepping through the entrance provides a 'back to the future' feeling from the late 1860's.
A continental breakfast of muffins (most delicious) made by local bakers helps start the day. We Expected to find General Mead in the next room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We love the history of our building, but also realize how important those modern comforts are when you’re travelling! Our “local bakers” are actually right here on our own staff and all of our delicious treats are baked in-house! Please stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staff very helpful and ready to help with any question. Very clean and noise free. It was like a mini apartment and very relaxing. Right downtown so you could talk a short walk around the square and be close to your room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debaytdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review! We enjoyed hosting your visit to Gettysburg and are glad that you enjoyed the comforts of your suite. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were fortunate to stay in the Lord Nelson suite and absolutely loved it! The room is very comfortable and clean. I could easily move in. Baskets of fresh baked muffins, fresh fruit and juice is delivered to your door in the late afternoon for the next days breakfast. The location is excellent for easy walking to shops and eateries, and they offer off street parking. We will be making reservations soon for our return visit. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdowds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! Guest recommendation is the best form of advertising and we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again very soon! Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would not only stay at James Getty Hotel again, but I would Highly recommend it to friends and family! Excellent location, Immaculate rooms, Helpful and Friendly staff, Wonderful breakfast baskets .. .. Our trip was Incredible, and this Hotel was one of many, many positives!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for spreading the word about our hotel! We are so glad that you chose us to be a part of your Gettysburg experience and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We would definitely stay here again. Great location, wonderful staff and the breakfast baskets of muffins or coffee cake and sweet bread with fresh fruit are not to be missed. It was very clean and lots of room. We loved the location. Perfect place to stay during a visit to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Main Street but it wasn't that noisy even though there was a lot of traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetdudef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I’m so glad you enjoyed our baked goods – most of our fruits come straight from local farmers' markets. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing