We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Gettys Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$138
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$147
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$143
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
323
65
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
65
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue parrotmajestic suitecookiesunion hotelthe lord nelson suitecoffee cakebreakfast basketbaked goodsturn down servicefull size refrigeratorsmall apartmentliving room areacharming hotelwithin walking distanceeach eveningfourth floorheart of downtown
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 404 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located right in downtown Gettysburg, this is a perfect place to stay for a weekend in Gettysburg. They provide parking directly behind the hotel, so your car is easily accessible, but you rarely need it. Great food, shopping, and lots of the history of Gettysburg are right at your doorstep. Plus, a delicious, simple breakfast in the morning, perfect way to start your day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We love our location too - there are so many fine shops and restaurants nearby, not to mention entertainment! We enjoyed having you stay with us and I hope you will return soon!

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our stay at the James Gettys couldn't have been nicer. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the location was ideal (half a block from Lincoln Square, the town "center"), and our suite was comfortable, beautiful, and spotless. It is obvious how much care the staff takes-their attention to detail was remarkable. We were greeted by a plate of some of the yummiest cheese and chocolate we've ever had, and our juice and cream for the next morning's breakfast was already in the fridge, along with a fruit and muffin basket. The suite felt so warm and homey, that I am almost sad we did so much sightseeing. We were also delighted that the room was made up while we were out so that we didn't have to come back to a messy bed or our breakfast dishes in the sink. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kah474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - we love to pamper our guests! There is so much to see and do in Gettysburg, it can really keep you on the go, especially the first trip. Perhaps on your return trip, you'll find more time for relaxing in your suite! I hope you'll visit us again soon!

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My boyfriend went to Gettysburg with another couple recently after purchasing the Living Social deal; we all stayed at the James Gettys, and we all loved it! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very cute and cozy. I love that each room has its own kitchen (even though we never cooked in it the whole weekend). We also loved the idea of having a breakfast plate delivered every morning rather than your typical big awkward breakfast with everyone in the hotel! :-) Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to all!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hotel! I'm also glad you enjoyed the breakfast baskets; there's something very relaxing about being able to eat at your own leisure in the morning. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The James Gettys Hotel in Gettysburg is an overall superb accommodation! Our room was spacious, clean and welcoming. The staff were attentive to every need we had. I would recommend and return here when visiting Gettysburg!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to be a part of your recent visit to Gettysburg! I'm so glad you found your suite spacious enough to suit your needs. We enjoy hosting families and are always excited to point visitors in the right direction to get the most out of their trip. There is so much to explore in Gettysburg, I hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel, and it was fantastic. We had a suite with a kitchen, living room, and bedroom. The staff is very nice, and they bring you a cheese plate with fruit and chocolate on your arrival. For breakfast, they supplied fresh muffins, OJ,and cake. For a treat, they gave us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Location is perfect for visiting the Gettysburg Visitor Center, museums and the fields where soldiers fought during the Civil War. A lot of nice restaurants in the area, especially Glenowens Pub.

Room Tip: Request a Kings size bed
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caterina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our hotel! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am always glad to hear that our guests are enjoying all that Gettysburg has to offer - being in the center of town makes it so easy to just walk out the front door and find something to do! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews