We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another review of the James Gettys Hotel in GEttysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“another review of the James Gettys Hotel in GEttysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have just returned from Gettysburg and my twelfth stay at the James Gettys Hotel. I was, as always attendng the Winter Ball Weekend sponsored by BBIG - Bed & Breakfast Inns of Gettysburg. Evey time I stay at the JGH it feel a if i am TRULY home. The suitr, the staff and of course those INCREDIBLE breakfasts make EACH stay a TRUE JOY.
Thank you ALL again & I'll see you in Septmber - PROMISE!
Louise .

Room Tip: Ladies travelling alone - the Sign of the Spread Eagle suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    51
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You will struggle to find a better location in Gettysburg than The James Getty's. it's right beside the main square and once you work out how to access the small parking area behind the hotel parking is a doodle.
I had a utility which consisted of a small sitting room and kitchenette with a compact bedroom and bathroom. I think I was given this because I was travelling on my own, but it was perfectly comfortable for my two-night stay.
Everything worked well, had a decent coffee machine, but I found the breakfast which is left on your kitchen table on a plate, somewhat limited and unsatisfactory.
The service at check-in was a little perfunctory but I was given all the information I asked for if perhaps in a somewhat efficient rather than friendly manner. However I'd recommend the James Getty's for its great location and decent accommodation. At least it's not another chain property and has its own character so deserves your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotsRoad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We took our visiting Canadian relative for a one night stay in Gettysburg, along with our two early-teen sons. Our family had one suite, which had a bedroom and a living room with a daybed and trundle for the boys, plus a small kitchen area. Our guest had her own suite next door with a sitting area, kitchenette, which became our "adult" space to hang out. Perfect. The rooms were clean and very cozy, with good coffee and a charming basket of baked goods and fruit brought for the next day's breakfast. They also had dark chocolate squares patterned after the hotel's facade. We loved the old building and the slightly slanted stairs. We liked everything about this little hotel but the best thing about it were the employees - helpful, friendly and accommodating. The young lady at the desk there made excellent restaurant recommendations - for the Thai place down the street and the Dobbin House. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zevydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineland, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay here every time we come to Gettysburg, and it never fails to impress. The place is immaculate, the staff is exceedingly friendly, and the location is excellent. It is one of the highlights of our visits to a town we really enjoy. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at JG Hotel was great! It was immaculately clean. The Hotel goes to lengths to attend to details to make your stay comfortable, such as including dish soap, and cream for coffee. The staff was helpful and courteous at all times. Worth every penny to stay in such a beautiful building so close to the center of town. Reserved parking directly in front of the building allows you to unload with ease, and rear parking is convenient. They even had flannel sheets! I would absolutely recommend staying if your budget allows. This hotel doesn't even compare with a chain hotel. Having a suite makes even a two day stay so much more enjoyable. I am looking forward to my next stay at the JGH!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sign of the Golden Cross Keys" suite, and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our entire experience with the James Gettys Hotel was wonderful. My wife has trouble sleeping, and the room we originally reserved might have been too near the street. The hotel was nice enough to recommend a better room because of that, and it was an excellent suggestion, We stayed in Lord Nelson's Suite, and the accommodations were excellent. The suite was quiet, spacious and clean. The continental breakfast was a perfect size for us. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not only would we return again, but I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura and Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On our vacation, we stayed one night at the James Getty hotel in Gettysburg. The bathroom was clean and had a number of nice amenities, however, the living area furnishings really need a makeover! The sofa and chair were dated 70's and the fabrics were less than clean. For $195 a night, we expected more! There is free parking behind the hotel and the location is in the heart of the tourist area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanceb4019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing