We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“James Getty Hotel great location and super clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“James Getty Hotel great location and super clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great hotel in the perfect location!! Super friendly and helpful staff. Don't expect an old hotel, the rooms have all the modern conveniences and very clean and up to date! Free parking in the back and right in the middle of town but off the crazy busy main drag.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. I hope you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
212
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! We stayed for 9 days and hated leaving. We found the daily morning breakfasts fresh and tasty. The hotel was very accomodating and the location was absolutely perfectly situated.
We will definitely stay again next time we come to Gettysburg!

Room Tip: The Lord Nelson suite is biggest (apartment sized), however our favorite in the hotel was the John T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I am so glad you had a nice long extended stay with us. Gettysburg is centrally located to Hershey, Lancaster, Harpers Ferry, Antietam and Washing DC. We have had many visitors use this hotel as their home away from home while taking day trips to our surrounding communities.

I hope you will come back again some day.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the highest rated hotel in Gettysburg so we had high expectations as wel always do with highly rated properties on Trip Advisor. The hotel says it is a Bed and Breakfast and their website discusses the unique decorations in each room. We imagined when we arrived in the room we would be turning back the page in time - until we encountered shag carpet. Breakfast is "served" in the room. What that means is they put a saran wrap covered small basket with local muffins and sweet breads and a few grapes in the room. There is packaged, probably locally ground, coffee for use in teh coffee maker that is there, and some nice teas for which you can boil water in the kettle on the stove. There is some OJ in the refigerator and a small pitcher of milk which will not take care of two cups of coffee or tea. Not the image most people have of a bed and breakfast. Gettysburg is a small town but clearly the Jemes Getty hotel has mastered spin. Room was nice as were the the people who work there. The room has a kitchen that is reasonably well furnished. It is not, however, what we expected when we saw "bed and breakfast".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you feel you were mislead and believed you were coming to a bed and breakfast. We are listed as a hotel on Trip Advisor because we are not a bed and breakfast. Our advertising clearly states that we are a cross between a B&B and a boutique hotel. In no way do we ever want anyone to think this property was a home converted to a bed and breakfast. This is a small historic hotel with twelve suites each with sitting area, bedroom and private bath. Each room is decorated with modern furnishings - because we want our guests to feel at home.

We are small, work closely with the other B&B's in the area and provide amenities that you will find in a B&B vs. a standard hotel room. We did not choose to be listed as a B&B, rating sites do that based on our size. We have chosen the continental breakfast basket as an additional amenity to our guests. We do not advertise a full breakfast. We bake all of our items in house. They are truly homemade down to the fruit which is grown locally and frozen to that we can bake in the winter months.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I had not heard that you had a complaint while you were here, so that we could have done something to help. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit. The James Gettys Hotel is not for everyone, but luckily most of our guests are extremely pleased with the experience we provide.

Sincerely,

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is nicely located in central Gettysburg and we loved the fact that it was in town and offered us the convenience of walking around town in the evenings for dinner, ice cream, etc.. The suite was very spacious and offered comfort to relax at the day's end, and the efficiency kitchen provided a place to keep our drinks cold and make coffee/tea in the mornings. Our room was on the second floor and in the back and was very quiet. It is located on Chambersburg Street and it a main road with traffic, which could be loud at times, so keep that in mind when booking. The continental breakfast consisted of muffins and breads, and varied each day. Additionally, we received cookies or chocolates as well. Our only complaint is minor, and is that we would have liked more space to put our toiletries in the bathroom. We would likely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review and I hope you will return again some day soon.
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in the Majestic Suite, and we were very impressed with the spacious and beautiful accomodations, including a fireplace in the bedroom and a jacuzzi bathtub as well as a large shower. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the breakfast and treats delivered to our room. The location made it very easy for us to explore the town. We'd love to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick42041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review.
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the James Getty last weekend. It was very comfortable and clean. I liked that the room was actually a mini suite, with kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Even though it was in the heart of town, it was quiet. Every day there was a treat (chocolates, cookies) and breakfast( muffins and breads). The room was nicely decorated and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you had a great time. We have had many families stay with us over the last 16 years who love the hotel. It is small and quaint - many guests leave their rooms open and go from room to room to visit. That is a home like quality and we have been a home to many.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family stayed in three different rooms on three different floors. All the rooms were equally comfortable, clean, and well equipped. The breakfast baskets were so good and the evening baskets were even better. The ladies at the hotel could not have been nicer. We will stay here every time we return to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Property: James Gettys Hotel
Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing