We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous gem of a hotel”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were lured here by a Living Social coupon and were wowed by our stay. Located in the heart of downtown Gettysburg, this is a boutique hotel. Fresh muffins develivered to your room every morning; ours was a 2 room suite with a kitchenette - spacious and comfortable. free wifi, parking, etc. . Near al lthe attractions and restaurants. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Our Living Social deal has ended and I have to say we met some of the nicest folks over the last few months.
Thanks again,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 390 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a really nice place, very convenient downtown location and close to the battlefields and all the sights. Great service with little extras like breakfast in your room every day and a nice platter of goodies on arrival. Staff very friendly and helpful. Small hotel, casual atmosphere. The room was actually a suite, including stove, refrig, separate bedroom, dining table. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if every room is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope if back in Gettysburg - you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I completed my 9th stay at the James Gettys in January 2012. Wha can I stay - except that you cannot improve PERFECTION. Special tanks to Stephanie and all the staff for making my stay as WONDERFUL as ever. Other hotels and B & s in Gettysburg wold do well to emulate the HIGHEST level of service as exhibited by Stephanie & the staff.
BRAVO to all - extremely well done!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

First trip to Gettysburg and the hallowed battlefield. This hotel seemed to take you back in time (ignoring all the modern amenities, of course) and perfectly suited the weekend. A-plus on all the usual categories. And the folks were especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was a gift from our daughter who bought a 2 night stay on living social. The room was so nice. Large like a one bedroom apartment. When we arrived there was cheese, crackers, strawberries with chocolate to welcome us. They then brought up muffins, juice and grapes for the morning. Great location, well maintained, wifi and CLEAN!! We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCHANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was really nice to have met you.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Best place to stay in the Gettysburg area. Super clean, friendly and spacious. In the morning you get a couple pastries of some kind, a caraffe of OJ, butter and milk for tea/coffee available in the room. All the baked goods are made there so they're fresh. Also, this hotel is supposedly haunted, so it's fun to stay there and see what you can see! I rated the sleep quality "average" because it's on a busy street in a college town, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the James Getty this weekend. Having stayed at several Bed and Breakfasts before this one, I found the James Getty to be a bit different. Typically the hosts at a B&B are very social and helpful, but I am not sure if I even met the owners or not. Also, there was not a common area to get coffee or a drink or anything. Most B&B's I have been at allow the ability to get something when you want to. While the breakfast was not hot or served in a dining area, it was very yummy! I enjoyed every bread, muffin, and cake. Like I said, just different than most.
The location is great. You can walk around the town and shop or eat, it is very convinient. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. I love that there was a living area with a mini kitchen and everything. On the down side, the noise on the street was VERY noisy at 2am when the bar next door closed and our bed was very squeaky.
Overall, I would certainly stay here again. Especially now that I know what to expect. I would simply ask for a room in the back of the hotel instead.

Room Tip: Choose one in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. Please visit us again soon.
Sincerely,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,625 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing