We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway Weekend”
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at The James Gettys Hotel this past weekend. Warm,friendly and inviting are just the beginning of describing our stay.The entire hotel is spotless, the staff super friendly and unpretentious.We felt like we had our own little condo for the weekend, with lots of privacy. Freshly baked local breads and muffins ,along with gourmet coffee and English teas,with a carafe of fresh orange juice, add a special touch in the evening with their turn down service. Great location, easy to walk to any of the fine restaurants/bars in town. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trxzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for James Gettys Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 373 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the James Getty twice.The first was holloween weekend and the second was new years eve.Both stays were very nice, the rooms were clean,and it's location in the middle of town was perfect.The James Getty is listed as a B&B and if you want a full breakfast this is not the place for you.They only provide a cold breakfast basket in your room the day before.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for the kind review. It was nice to have you stay with us again and I am glad you enjoyed our holiday festivities. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Friendly and informative front desk. Room felt nice and private, though sort of spartan. Breakfast was great for continental. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed just one night at the James Gettys Hotel. Wish we had more time, and will certainly stay there again. The service was friendly, the room was clean and snug. The location, in the middle of town is just perfect. We will be back, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

As my spouse's family is a good distance away from home, we frequently spend a night or two in Gettysburg on the way back from her family's home. We usually stay at another historic B&B of which we've grown fond. But this weekend that B&B was full. So we chose James Gettys Hotel. First, we expected a small room but got a whole suite! it's short from the center of town, so the choices for food and entertainment are many. We'll use this delightful hotel again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimothyScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We checked in on Friday at noon and checked out on Sunday at 10 am. The weather was perfect for a fall weekend. The accomodations were awesome. We felt like we were all alone in a studio apartment. The staff were unassuming but always available. Everything about the place was perfect from the homeade baked goods and coffee available in our room every night to the most comfortable bed. I definitely plan on returning to the James Gettys Hote.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

I just wanted to say thank you for the kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Gettysburg and your stay here at the James Gettys.
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The James Gettys Hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Gettysburg. Great Location near Lincol Square. Easy checkin with parking out front and convenient parking in back. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. My only complaint is the breakfast. For 185 dollars I would expect a bit more than two muffins and some moldy grapes. We pitched it in the trash and ate breakfast at the Pub. Even a small setup of muffins and pastries and fruit and coffee in the lobby would be an improvement. Otherwise lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments and critiques and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am a bit surprised and sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your breakfast basket. You didn't mention anything to us while you were here and if what you are saying is true, we would have prepared another plate for you. It is a little too late to correct a problem once it is written in a review verses telling us while you are in the hotel.
Our baked goods are prepared in house and are home made. We offer an assortment of muffins, tea breads and coffeecakes along with fresh fruit and fresh juice. It is a light continental breakfast. For some it is plenty, for others it serves as a 'tide me over' breakfast for a later heartier breakfast at one our local restaurants. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at the Pub. They started serving breakfast this past summer. We have heard nice things.
Again thank you for the review.
Sincerely,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: $144 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing