We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction for the little ones (not horses -- children and grandchildren)”

Land of Little Horses
Ranked #35 of 109 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A hands-on interactive Farm Park with numerous farm animals. Our full-time staff of performing animals take the stage for guaranteed laughs! Get up close and personal with our famous namesake miniature horses and their farm animal friends. Play areas, a Western Town, Educational Displays, and Special Events are sure to delight the kids and “kids at heart”. Pack a lunch or enjoy the food at the Hobby Horse Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A fun day for all. Great shows, horseback ride for the kiddies, lots of animals to see, pet, and feed. Allow at least a half day.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

So happy that you visited and enjoyed what our park has to offer! As we often say....you don't have to be young, just young at heart! It also seems that you took the time to enjoy all of our events and activities and to visit with our animals as well. Thank you so much for your kind review and for recommending to prospective guests to allow the extra time for their visit. Wishing you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to Gettysburg many times but this was our first visit to the Land of Little Horses. What a pleasant surprise! We had our 5 year old grandson with us and we were looking for something he would enjoy and this was the perfect choice. He loved the animals and we all enjoyed the show with the little horses, the dogs and the goat! Our grandson especially was amazed by the talking dog and the horse that could count! And, we all loved the baby pigs who were only 3 weeks old and just adorable. We will definitely visit here again!

Thank Longlkburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Where else can you go and see "talking dogs" and "counting horses"?!! It is our pleasure for you and your family to have been our guests and to provide a fun family atmosphere for everyone. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again to find out what more our talented animal family can come up with in our arena performance! Wishing you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Made a return visit here after 30 years and had as much fun as I did as a kid! Was so amazing to see it through a grownup's eyes with my goddaughters. Love being able to have hands on time with the little horses and other animals. (If there are baby piglets, I dare you not to be charmed by them.)

So glad to know the farm is still thriving! Happy to see rescue dogs in the show too.

I used this as a way to break up a road trip home from Hersheypark back to DC. Wonderful time!

Thank SuzieDerkins1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

We are absolutely thrilled to see generations of families returning to visit us to share what they enjoyed in younger years. It gives us great satisfaction to share what we have with others and to see the happiness that our animal friends bring to everyone. Our gratitude to you and your family for remembering the fun times that you had before and bringing others to visit with us. Here's hoping that our little park can continue to bring joy to our guests for many more years. Thank you so much for your kind review and we wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I visited the Land of Little Horses 35 years ago as a child, and I loved it. I recently brought my own children on a family vacation in Gettysburg, and it was even better than I remembered. There were so many animals for my children to interact with, including some that wandered around freely. We learned a lot about the horses, and even got to watch a show. There was a small old western town that the kids enjoyed playing in, as well as pony rides and a cart ride. We spent hours visiting, despite the 90+ degree heat that day. My only complaint is that the admission price was a bit steep.

1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Even I mean to do these things sometimes but by the time I return home, it slips my mind so "kudos" to you and all of our other reviewers for remembering to do this! All of us are so glad that your visit was a enjoyable and that you were able to spend time with us and take advantage of what our little park has to offer. We are grateful to all of our guests and we hope that the memories made here will bring them back for another visit. Please know that your complaint is completely understood and totally legitimatebut we hope that you will be able to understand that the admission price is what funds our park for the entire year although we are only open for 6 months of it and basically 3 of those months are when most of our guests visit. We try to add small improvements as the years pass so that returning guests may find something different on each visit as well as supporting the costs of our feed and veterinary and animal maintenance, liability insurance, payroll costs, building, equipment and grounds maintenance.... and well you get the idea. All things aside, we wouldn't be doing it if we didn't love sharing what we have with others and are so glad that you found pleasure in visiting our little farm. Thanks again and we hope that we will see you in the future. Wishing you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This is such a cute place to visit whether you are 5 years old or 60 years old. The Little Horses are adorable. You can purchase horse food and feed the different ponies. Inside the little barn/stable you can learn about different horses from one of the care takers. Some of the ponies even walk freely while others are in pens. For a little fee, your child can get a pony ride. There is also other animals there you can visit with and feed. Around 4:15 pm they get the horses ready to be let out in the pasture with the help of the resident dog. That was cute. There are plenty of places to sit down and relax too. There is even a snack bar that is reasonably priced. We spent around 2 - 2 1/2 hours there. Oh, and finally they offer a AAA discount of 10% off admission. My kids love it there. (Even my oldest, she's 20 yrs old).

1  Thank JenniferE299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

The staff at Land of Little Horses Farm Park are delighted that you were able to visit us and enjoy your time here. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and such kind words about our park. Our goal is to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their visit as much as it sounds like you did. We hope that you will be able to visit again. Wishing you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Little Horses also viewed

 

Been to Land of Little Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing