We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel sorry for the poor things.”

Land of Little Horses
Ranked #34 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A hands-on interactive Farm Park with numerous farm animals. Our full-time staff of performing animals take the stage for guaranteed laughs! Get up close and personal with our famous namesake miniature horses and their farm animal friends. Play areas, a Western Town, Educational Displays, and Special Events are sure to delight the kids and “kids at heart”. Pack a lunch or enjoy the food at the Hobby Horse Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The place seems run down, the animals exploited and made to do silly, pointless tricks. The whole place has no purpose. It was embarassing, even for the young ones.

Thank Foxwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Although we strive to do our best to provide a fun, clean, and educational experience for every guest that enters our park, we do realize that the same things that appeal to most do not appeal to all. We regret that you felt as you did about our park but our animals are treated with the greatest of care and we are supported by our local Humane Societies and meet strict guidelines by the USDA and Pennsylvania Game and WIldlife Commision as far as the care and facilities for the animals. As far as the "rundown" comment...I do not know how to reply to this comment. We spend a great deal of time and effort to keep our park clean, safe and comfortable for everyone. It takes a great deal of planning to accomplish all that our staff does. Our park is a seasonal operation with basically 3 months out of an entire year to provide the funds to do all that we do. We do not have volunteer staff and our animals reside here all year. There are many bills to pay and we are so grateful to each guest that visits as they make it possible to keep a family destination alive after 40+ years of operation. I appreciate that you took the time to address your feelings in your review and we all strongly believe that each person is entitled to speak their opinion. However, we hope that future guests to our park may read this and see beyond our humble and simple operation and try to understand what hard work it is to keep a park like ours in operation and to compete in todays "high tech" world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Land of Little Horses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our third visit. My three year old daughter has developed a love of horses thanks to this place. These gentle little creatures will warm your heart and feed your spirit. I can't imagine anyone not liking this place. The owner really cares about providing her guests with a memorable, enriching and heart warming experience. I only wish we lived closer. Enjoyed it just as much the third time as we did the first and second. I especially love the one horse that roams around free. We love feeding the horses too.

Thank girchbeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and realizing that we work so hard not only to provide our animals with the best of care but making sure that each and every guests has the most enjoyable visit. It is our greatest pleasure to be able to share what we are so blessed to have with others that may not. We are grateful to those of you that visit time and again. You are the reason that we have managed to operate for 40 plus years. Thank you so much and we wish you the safest travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just took my grandson there & he loved it. Everyone was extremely friendly. The animals performed great & it appears to me that they are very well cared for. I love the fact that they rescue dogs from the humane society. I have been going there since my children were small & now I take the grandkids. Perfect sunday afternoon.! I agree, it's a little pricey but, it takes alot of money to care for all of the animals. Money well spent.

Thank eileen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Manager at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our park. We realize how busy families are in these times and it means a great deal to us that you devoted the time to write such kind words. It is wonderful to hear that you and your kids and grandkids enjoy our park and our little furry friends. Thanks so much for your continued support and enjoy the beautiful fall weather! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

aw such wonderful little horses...they were so sweet..loved this place..i would diffinetly visit again...i think horses are so majestic, i just wouldn't believe this comes in tiny packages...little horses with big hearts and spirits..being close was great...petting and interacting was great..the kids loved them...they want a small one now..i think i will just go the Land of Little Horses for vacation...loved it !!!!

Thank cdarfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Manager at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We always say, "what they lack in size they make up for in spunk". It was so nice to hear that you had a wonderful time visiting with our horses and all of their friends. They sure do look forward to our guests and their visits. Of course, it usually means treats but we honestly think that they enjoy the attention as well. Many thanks for seeing our park as what it was meant for....enjoying our farm and the relaxing atmosphere in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great place to take your horsey kids. It is definately geared to elementary and below. A bit expensive and the gift shop is cheesy but my tween still had fun.

Thank zether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Manager at Land of Little Horses, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

So glad to hear that someone of your child's age enjoyed their time here. They do seem to be the most difficult to impress so it was an honor to hear that they enjoyed their visit. We do seem to be for the kid and kid at heart in all of us...some we just need to work harder at entertaining! Thanks so much for paying a visit and we hope that you will be able visit again soon! Enjoy the rest of the beautiful fall weather and safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Little Horses also viewed

 

Been to Land of Little Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing