We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor care for the Horses” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Land of Little Horses

Land of Little Horses
Ranked #33 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hands-on interactive Farm Park with numerous farm animals. Our full-time staff of performing animals take the stage for guaranteed laughs! Get up close and personal with our famous namesake miniature horses and their farm animal friends. Play areas, a Western Town, Educational Displays, and Special Events are sure to delight the kids and “kids at heart”. Pack a lunch or enjoy the food at the Hobby Horse Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor care for the Horses”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place should be shut down and I will do what I can to ensure they do and the animals are sent to a better place. They don't care for the horses. We took our little girl here and didn't stay long as we were horrifed of the conditions of the animals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank docHolidayPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We respect everyone's opinion and do our best to rectify situations that we feel we need to improve on but the care of the animals at our park is of utmost importance as each one of them is our livelihood. Caring for the animals is a 365 day a year/24 hour a day routine and we are dedicated in scheduling staff to carry out the day to day feeding and chores. Maintenance veterinary procedures are carried out on site and emergency and other veterinary care is performed by our vet. We are inspected by the USDA and Pennsylvania Game and Wildlife Commission and adhere to their policies and procedures. Each of our animals are provided with indoor accomadations as well as outdoor access to pastures during their "down time". Training of the animals is done with respect and tolerance of each personality and ability. We are very sorry that you did not feel that our park was not worthy of a longer stay and that you felt compelled to write as you did but it does appear to me that the majority of our guests realize the hard work and dedication that each of us devotes to our animals everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    34
    12
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Giddy up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Took daughter there to see the horses and ride them, she got a pink jacket and pink cowboy hat. cute on her. she just loved the horses and riding them. lots of horses and nice ppl. good for famlies.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
So glad that you and your family had a great time at our park. Thanks so much for stopping in for a visit and taking the time to write a review for our farm. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice liitle stop for the kids outskirts if Gettysburg. Kids had a great time, i recommend taking the kids here

Helpful?
Thank Cwbyfromhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
So nice to hear that you and your children had a nice time at our park. Many thanks for stopping in to visit and for recommending our farm to others with families and children. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review for us. Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth it !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I are in our mid 50's and we enjoyed this as much as anything we saw in Gettysburg.
This is so well worth the money. Buy some feed and feed the horses. The show is cute as heck even for us at our age.

I have never been to a zoo/farm that "smelled" as good as this one. Clean as can be. We actually met the owner and talk to her about 15 minutes and realized that she is what we need more of in this world. Wonderful caring person not only for the animals but her customers too.

We loved the fact that you can get right next to the horses and feed them. Great place if you have time do not hesitate to fit this in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank amr2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the recognition of our dedication and hard work here at our little park. It means so much that our guests realize the amount of time and love that we put forth to make our farm a place that everyone enjoys visiting. It is our pleasure to share what we are fortunate enough to have with everyone else. Our animals appreciate your visits as well! Thanks so much for stopping by and hope that all of our critters put a smile on your face! Hope that the 50th birthday was a special one! Safe travels to you and have a great rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had taken our own kids years ago and were excited to return with 2 of our grandsons. This place does not disappoint. The little horses are very accessible to the public. Lots of petting and up close contact. A variety of activities plus a little lunch place. A perfect day out with our 3 & 5 yr old grandsons! Great fun for us to share with the next generation!

Helpful?
Thank Loracb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOLHFP, Owner at Land of Little Horses, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We can't say big enough Thank You for this very special review. It makes us so happy to know that there are still families that appreciate genuine good, clean, family fun. Our staff works so hard to make sure that all of our guests are treated to an educational and entertaining visit. I think that a little park like our being in existence for 42 years speaks for itself but we want to make sure that guests return for visits time and time again. A special thank you for visiting and also for making the time to write such wonderful words. Hope that the rest of your summer is beautiful and relaxing and we look forward to you visiting again in the future. Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Little Horses also viewed

 

Been to Land of Little Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing