We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Actually Well Priced and Fun Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Heritage Center

Gettysburg Heritage Center
Book In Advance
$8.94*
and up
Tour of the Gettysburg Heritage Center
Ranked #13 of 95 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover... The Town, The People, Their Stories. Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational and entertaining museum for families and tour groups of all ages. Learn what the Battle of Gettysburg meant to the people who lived here during the war. Utilizing artifacts, historical documents, interactive displays, and 3-D productions, visitors will gain a better understanding of the events that took place in the town before, during and after the battle. Find out how the people reacted to the invasion of the town - freeze, flee or fight? Hear accounts of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in a time when their home was in turmoil. Located in the lobby of the Gettysburg Heritage Center is one of the largest and extensive gift stores. Offering a wide selection of books, apparel, gifts, collectibles, games & toys, replica weapons and much more! There is something for everyone at the Gettysburg Heritage Center!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Actually Well Priced and Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have always enjoyed this museum on our visits to Gettysburg. Actually very fairly priced for the value provided and the gift shop and bookstore is one of the best in the Gettysburg area. It might be a bit of a surprise but I think that most folks, especially families with children, will enjoy and benefit from a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    63
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely a Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This museum is excellent! The ending is the absolute best! It should definitely be on the "to do" list. The day we were here they were letting everyone in for free. I asked why and they said that with the government shutdown happening they had opened their doors for free. Since the park was closed they wanted everyone that came to visit to have an enjoyable trip. They extended the free entrance throughout the weekend even though the government shutdown had ended. I would have definitely paid to see it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sldingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
323 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Kitchy but neat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Yes, this is an older, creepier version of many wax museums, but very informative. I think this iwould be great for a child's first time look at the Civil War, although some kids as well as many adults (see other reviews) may find the tour boring. If you expect Disney-like animatronics, go to Disney World but expect to pay big bucks. Here for about $6.50, you get a leisurely self-guided tour of the Civil War. The grand finale was a battlefield of wax figures that were periodically lit up during an audio reenactment of the civil war and narrated by an Abe Lincoln lookalike. Hey, I liked it! Don't care if the wax figures were ragged (looks similar to those in some of the witch museums in Salem, MA). I learned a lot about the Civil War just by reading each display. And yes, I did get a bit teary-eyed during the battlefield finale. Afterwards, we bought quite a number of souvenirs from the extensive gift shop. As an afterthought, wonder which came first...the giftshop or the museum which is tucked away in a hall in back of the cash register. Just curious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“was good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

was there with the gf over the weekend and due to the government shutdown (thank you Congress) the museum was free to enter. some of the displays were interesting, the underground railroad being one, but the rest weren't anything that great. you could tell the age of the displays as some of the hands and arms were not in the positions they should have been. the final "battle" scene in the theatre was neat and impressive just with the amount of soldiers and fighting being displayed. the final Abe Lincoln Gettysburg Address video was a huge letdown. the re-enactor was terrible and really did not convey the power and importance of that speech in the slightest. overall, i'm glad it was free as i don't think i would've felt i got my money's worth if charged regular price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianj320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“While the Government is Shut Down It's Free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

While the Government is Shut Down It's Free, and it's about worth the price. I'd forgotten just how awful the place is. Not the sort of wax museum where any trouble was put into making the wax figures look like the person in question. The best wax display is near the start and of the Underground Railroad.

At the end of the wax museum there is a very nice borrowed collection of 50th Battle Anniversary memorabilia that is wonderful.

By the way if you can, ask to be allowed to skip the last part of the show, which is of the battle. Not worth waiting for.

Best thing I can say is they have a great gift shop, and one of the best collections of books for sale that I found anywhere in town. Also a large and clean restroom.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing