We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettystown Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2012

...is what we thought of our entire Gettysburg experience. Starting with the very interesting and tastefully presented Gettysburg National Military Park to this quaint and cosy B&B. The staff were engaing and the meals memorable! It was a perfect spot to stay, an historic old residence and inn amid an historic town. And the town was picturesque without any evidence of the ticky-tacky which can pop up around such famous monmuments! We operate the #1 rated B&B in the 1000 Islands near Gananoque, Canada and think we know what makes a good B&B. Gettystown Inn Bed & Breakfast gets our vote!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoweIslandWinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've stayed twice at the inn, both times in Aunt Holly's suite, but others in our party stayed in Lincoln and both Overlook suites. Aunt Holly's is on two levels, really an apt., and the Lincoln is the whole floor of a house. All are unique, totally charming, very well equipped with kitchens, flat-screen tv's, the works. The decor is homey and historic-feeling, but very comfortable. They're kept immaculately clean. You're in the center of activity for the town, but it was quiet all the same. The breakfast, served only to guests of the B&B, is amazing. Different every day, but wonderful food (often more of it than one can possibly consume!) and served with efficiency and good humor by the delightful Jenny. We had a stuffed (with cream cheese and apples) French toast that was extraordinary, and it came with eggs, bacon, potatos and great homemade breads. You'll be FULL! There are reserved parking spaces for guests, very helpful in a busy part of town. There are lots of chain hotels/motels in the town, but this is a real Gettysburg experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Website has good photos of the various suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Meade suite. Breakfast in a private cozy dining room, biscuit and gravy eggs bacon and home made cherry bread hot chocolate. I would stay again just for that! Our room was historic beautiful and quaint Charming and the people could not have been any nicer! Except in the pub I think the girl behind the bar was having a bad night. That is the only negative I have!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the Lee Suite. It is charming! You get a private entrance and a private little porch! The location is perfect for walking to shops and exploring the battlefield. The suite has a sitting room with a daybed, tv, desk, rocking chair and mini fridge(stocked with a few snacks and wine glasses). The beroom is seperated from the sitting room with a door that locks if needed. Both rooms have their own A/C unit. I(a large woman) used the the daybed and slept very well. We spent a few hours each evening on the front porch swing. You really get to enjoy the charm of the town from the porches of this Inn! The rooms have their own parking spots(in the Dobbin House lot) clearly labeled. The rates are REALLY good for what you get. We have stayed in many of the hotels and B&Bs in the area. This was by far our favorite place. We will stay at the Gettystown Inn everytime we visit Gettysburg!

Room Tip: Plan a romantic dinner at the Dobbin House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So charming and magical. The rooms are so homey and adolrable. Stayed in the Stuart room, and the Reynold's room, and I am coming back for the Lincoln suite in Oct/ 2012. I stay here because I love the Springhouse Tavern, (connected to this property.) No trip to Gettysburg is complete without it! The prices are great for this place. Ive stayed at the Farnsworth inn, and the Inn of 1863 across the street, and I love/prefer this place. They give you the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel, even 4 star ones that are more expensive. You must try the coffee. Ive been to Gettysburg many times, and I come back pretty much for this hotel, and the french onion soup and punch in the tavern. Tip; you check in at the gift shop. look up the room pics online, as they are all historical and different, and pick your favorite! I always look back on my stay here fondly...This is a very special and unique place

Room Tip: Stuart room and Reynold's are both nifty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo-lay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts in Gettysburg and this one was sadly not one of my favorites, though it did have some good points. The room (Reynolds room) was small, but comfortable and they did have a cot ready for us since we traveled with our child. The location was great; within walking distance of just about everything. The staff was very nice and personable. The breakfast in the am was good. It consisted of cheesy eggs, spiced potatoes, ham and their delicious, fresh baked breads and the atmosphere was very nice since it was located in the Dobbin House dining area. As for the negative aspects, the room was in dire need of repair. There was peeling wallpaper, cracks in the ceiling, a dent in the wall from the doorknob which could have been avoided by a doorstop. The blankets that were provided for the cot had various holes and stains on it. In general, it seemed the room was not maintained as well as would be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnight1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Gettystown B&B was very nice and privet it was more like staying in a bungalow since every most rooms have their own street exit and living area.
It was clean and the food was great! I enjoyed my stay very much and their was a lot to do with in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themergoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
3.6 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
Tillie Pierce House Inn
Tillie Pierce House Inn
#19 of 23 in Gettysburg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettystown Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettystown Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 89 Steinwehr Ave. (Business Route 15 South), at Dobbin House Tavern, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Gettystown Hotel Gettysburg
Gettystown Inn Bed And Breakfast
Historic Dobbin House Tavern Gettysburg
Dobbin House Tavern Hotel
Historic Dobbin Tavern Gettystown House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing