We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
75
20
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
20
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the dobbin house tavern reynolds room front porch old house front of the house lincoln gave the gettysburg address stayed nights each morning coffee maker belgian waffles small fridge rocking chairs national cemetery sitting area first floor historical sites civil war
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 111 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've stayed twice at the inn, both times in Aunt Holly's suite, but others in our party stayed in Lincoln and both Overlook suites. Aunt Holly's is on two levels, really an apt., and the Lincoln is the whole floor of a house. All are unique, totally charming, very well equipped with kitchens, flat-screen tv's, the works. The decor is homey and historic-feeling, but very comfortable. They're kept immaculately clean. You're in the center of activity for the town, but it was quiet all the same. The breakfast, served only to guests of the B&B, is amazing. Different every day, but wonderful food (often more of it than one can possibly consume!) and served with efficiency and good humor by the delightful Jenny. We had a stuffed (with cream cheese and apples) French toast that was extraordinary, and it came with eggs, bacon, potatos and great homemade breads. You'll be FULL! There are reserved parking spaces for guests, very helpful in a busy part of town. There are lots of chain hotels/motels in the town, but this is a real Gettysburg experience. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Website has good photos of the various suites.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Meade suite. Breakfast in a private cozy dining room, biscuit and gravy eggs bacon and home made cherry bread hot chocolate. I would stay again just for that! Our room was historic beautiful and quaint Charming and the people could not have been any nicer! Except in the pub I think the girl behind the bar was having a bad night. That is the only negative I have!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the Lee Suite. It is charming! You get a private entrance and a private little porch! The location is perfect for walking to shops and exploring the battlefield. The suite has a sitting room with a daybed, tv, desk, rocking chair and mini fridge(stocked with a few snacks and wine glasses). The beroom is seperated from the sitting room with a door that locks if needed. Both rooms have their own A/C unit. I(a large woman) used the the daybed and slept very well. We spent a few hours each evening on the front porch swing. You really get to enjoy the charm of the town from the porches of this Inn! The rooms have their own parking spots(in the Dobbin House lot) clearly labeled. The rates are REALLY good for what you get. We have stayed in many of the hotels and B&Bs in the area. This was by far our favorite place. We will stay at the Gettystown Inn everytime we visit Gettysburg!

Room tip: Plan a romantic dinner at the Dobbin House!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So charming and magical. The rooms are so homey and adolrable. Stayed in the Stuart room, and the Reynold's room, and I am coming back for the Lincoln suite in Oct/ 2012. I stay here because I love the Springhouse Tavern, (connected to this property.) No trip to Gettysburg is complete without it! The prices are great for this place. Ive stayed at the Farnsworth inn, and the Inn of 1863 across the street, and I love/prefer this place. They give you the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel, even 4 star ones that are more expensive. You must try the coffee. Ive been to Gettysburg many times, and I come back pretty much for this hotel, and the french onion soup and punch in the tavern. Tip; you check in at the gift shop. look up the room pics online, as they are all historical and different, and pick your favorite! I always look back on my stay here fondly...This is a very special and unique place

Room tip: Stuart room and Reynold's are both nifty.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo-lay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts in Gettysburg and this one was sadly not one of my favorites, though it did have some good points. The room (Reynolds room) was small, but comfortable and they did have a cot ready for us since we traveled with our child. The location was great; within walking distance of just about everything. The staff was very nice and personable. The breakfast in the am was good. It consisted of cheesy eggs, spiced potatoes, ham and their delicious, fresh baked breads and the atmosphere was very nice since it was located in the Dobbin House dining area. As for the negative aspects, the room was in dire need of repair. There was peeling wallpaper, cracks in the ceiling, a dent in the wall from the doorknob which could have been avoided by a doorstop. The blankets that were provided for the cot had various holes and stains on it. In general, it seemed the room was not maintained as well as would be expected.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnight1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews