We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The blind guy got blindsided !!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnsworth House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farnsworth House Inn
Ranked #17 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The blind guy got blindsided !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

First of all I have to admit that I did not do enough research on this place before making our reservation. So, I take some of the responsiblilty for my dissapointment.
With that being said... I hate to say that this place gets a thumbs down in the aspect of being a bed & breakfast. Let alone a haunted b & b. Let's see... where do I start? The price for our room was about $212 for one night. Checking in was a joke. Though we were allowed to check in early, it was a good thing. Because it took about 45 minutes to get it done. The one person who was doing the reservations was also taking calls, giving others info about Farnsworth activities, making new reservations, checking us in, and giving orders to other employees. She took about five phone calls during our check in. When we got the keys she had someone show us how to DRIVE to our room. WTF!!! When I made the reservation she did say that the room was not part of the main house. However, I thought that meant it was at the back of the house. Not a 1/4 mile drive down a gravel road. And I am not exagerating. Our room was part of a converted warehouse type bldg. It was a large room with a huge full kitchen. The bedroom was downstairs with no a/c. You had to go upstairs to the kitchen and the bathroom was right next to the frig. The window a/c was upstairs. They did have a fan to help circulate air downstairs. The bed was nice and comfy. That is really important to my gf. The floors were really dirty. I threw away my socks due to how dirty they were. The shower had a rotten food smell in it. No, it was well water smell either. I think someone was eating in there before we checked in (haha). Oh, I can't forget to mention the mouse traps we found in the room. And yes, they were set. We meandered around the Farnsworth area quite a bit. We would ask questions about the place to those who worked there. The most common answer we got was, "I don't know." Really??? I would think as famous as this place is, that they would be able to answer questions. We PAID for a visit to the cellar where it is reported to have paranormal activity. Yes, I am a believer. What about it? Though I think we got took again. The breakfast was bland and unimpressive. Though it was not the typical muffins & fruit stuff you get a other b & b's. I will say that I would not stay here again. But this is my/our opinion. If any advice I could give to others would be to make sure your room is in the main part of the house. They also have rooms right next to the restaurant where it is high traffic area with employees and general public. Gettysburg itself was alot of fun. A bit over commercializied. But once you get past that. You will enjoy yourself. It's kinda like a smaller version of Gatlinburg. With some real history behind it. Their mature tour / ghost stories time. Just not worth the $11 pp. All they do is tell the same stories with cursing. Big deal. Honestly, I get that language from my girlfriend all the time for free :)

Enjoy Gettysburg. Now we are off to St. Maarteen.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scott l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    84
    47
    42
    66
See reviews for
63
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Let me begin my saying that my husband and I have enjoyed many good meals and fun times at your establishment over the last few years. It was always a highlight of our trips to Gettysburg. However, things have really changed. Saying I was disappointed in our visit on September 4, 2013 is such an understatement. We had built up the evening so much to our six friends who were joining us at Gettysburg this year. The server was great. However, the meals were not. Seven of the eight meals were less than OK, with two being totally inadequate. I felt sorry for Ashley who tried to improve the situation, but really couldn’t fix the meals. I am not sure if there is a problem in the kitchen, or a new owner, or whatever. I feel that you have a fabulous place with loads of character upon which you could really build a great restaurant. It had been great before but I’m not sure that I would ever venture back. Actually when asked by a stranger for a place to eat, one of our friends told them to ‘avoid’ your establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRIT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Jane Lew, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love this restaurant! Such good food and wonderful staff! Love the feeling of stepping back in time! I also love the Jennie Wade Bread! Yum! We have dined here a couple times and they have never let us down! Definitely recommend when you're in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strongstown
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been eating here for years. We have always loved it...UNTIL the last time. The menu, service and cleanliness have changed. It is now overpriced poor quality food. I'm not sure if someone else has taken over or if the owners have given up, but something has gone wrong here. It used to be period dining with quality food...now it seems to be frozen/precooked/instant food items. I have been very disappointed with many of the restaurants in Gettysburg this summer...maybe it's time to stop visiting for a while. Such a shame that so many of the nice places are turning into dumps :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed in the Jenny Wade room. Dark, dingy, and dirty. The window was right on the patio dining area, so you could not open the drapes. Lots of noise from the dining area and nearby kitchen. TV didn't work, room was not made up by 4pm. If we wouldn't have called the front desk, I doubt it would have been done at all. No control over the heat/ac, alternated between stuffy and freezing. Staff seemed forlorn and unhappy. Food was good, as is the location. Parking is convenient. If you are a ghost hunter (it's supposedly haunted), it might be worth the price. If not, there are much nice B&Bs in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the garden house, all the rooms are next to the tavern and kitchen, and are very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was my first time staying at a B&B. They were great. They have a cute book store that reminds you of simpler times. That is where you check in at. They also have a fine dinning area, tavern and out door dinning. While on our trip we went on ghost tours. At one point we did theirs. It was wonderful as we were taken inside the B&B where we fell in love with the beauty of the place. We heard tales of haunting so we were able to get a room. What a great night! They also rent Scooters. We were not able to get a scooter but we will be sure to do it next time! All around a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great food and the outside seating was wonderful. Great time to eat and relax and talk to family and friends. There were eight of us and we all ordered something different and everything was good. We ordered steaks (one was very over cooked, but they fixed another), salmon, turkey, onion soup, and pork loin. The only negative was the service was very slow!!

Good place to relax and tour the house that is full of civil way bullet holes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flemingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#15 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Property: Farnsworth House Inn
Address: 401 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Farnsworth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing