We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good deal for Gettysburg!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Southern California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good deal for Gettysburg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

It's hard to find a reasonably priced room in Gettysburg that is close to the historical military park, clean, comfortable, and nearby to other amenities such as restaurants and shopping. EconoLodge fit the bill for us. The room was large, plenty of towels, and very clean. Things were in good repair and the outside well-kept as well. We were given a bit of guff when we requested a first floor room, which surprised us since we had reserved 6 months in advance and had arrived right after the open check-in time. The gal that checked us in was personable and fun to talk to, giving us all the information we needed about nearby shopping. We stayed three nights and we were comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't take a room next to the stairwell (105). It's noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
31
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,838 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,835 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This motel has alot to offer--large rooms, very good wifi, microwave, fridge, low rates. However, the walls are so thin that when we stayed on the first floor, it seemed that we heard constant pounding and jumping above us. In addition, nails in the wood in front of the bathroom (room 110) from frayed carpeting was very dangerous and was reported to the front desk--hopefully they will do something about it. Continental breakfast is poor and almost an afterthought. There is no place to sit so you have to take what few items they have back to the room. Only bagels, mini muffins and some danish--nothing else. No tea bags for tea drinkers and powered imitation cream instead of milk. Good AARP rate of $62 per night. Good location on busy US 30 just east of town with alot of dining options nearby. This place could be very good with some effort.

Room Tip: Get room toward rear and on second floor away from busy Route 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here while visiting Gettysburg. It was a great value compared to other hotels in the area. Just a couple miles from the main Gettysburg attractions. Clean. We felt very comfortable here. There was even coffee and pastries for breakfast. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHCTWAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Econo Lodge is on one of the main routes into town, making it a great place to stay already. The staff was friendly and helpful, able to help book a tour into Washington D.C. on a bus day trip.

The room itself was spacious for the price, with two double beds, a television, coffee maker, and mini fridge. We hardly ever heard anyone, even though there were no vacancies. It's also extremely clean; I've stayed in 4 star hotels that are less clean than this "cheap" hotel. I'll definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freq_Traveler_01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived well after midnight due to late departure. The motel is close to town and easy to find on the way in. Our hosts were very obliging despite the late hour. The room was warm, the showers hot and the beds comfortable. We had a very good sleep as a result. The room was clean and well equipped for a budget motel. All very well done and at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nothing fancy about this motel, but the room was clean, no odors, had a fridge which was nice, TV could use upgrade. Management was nice and responded quickly when i noticed the smoke alarm was beeping periodically (needed battery replaced) Not much of a breakfast provided, basically coffee, juice, doughnuts and bagels, but we were NOT there for the breakfast. Had a nice quiet, restful night which was all i wanted for this price range. I recommend it for any traveler to Gettysburg who is budget conscious but insists on a clean, comfortable, safe room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the third time over Memorial Day weekend. We checked in extremely late Sat night....so late that the owner was considerate enough to call us to make sure we were OK and would still be arriving that evening. When I told him we were on a ghost tour, he said to enjoy ourselves and take our time getting there! We found our room clean as usual. Very nice experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.7 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#19 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
5.7 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gettysburg
Super 8 Gettysburg
#17 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 983 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gettysburg
Gettysburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing