We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The Bed and Breakfast was beautifully decorated and spotless. The owners were very nice and helpful in pointing us in the right direction to see the sights of Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettiegirlsarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    24
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
79
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in the String of Pearls room with my daughter, located on the main street which was appealing to the eye with its nostalgic décor. Nice size for two people with clean fully stocked bathroom w/plenty of towels. They do supply hair dryers/ironing boards and fans in the upstairs hallway. The kitchen is stocked with plenty of pastries, breads, condiments and beverages for your convenience throughout the day but does not offer a served breakfast in a dining room. Our stay in Gettysburg was pleasant as the bed & breakfast was located near most locations of interest. The only negative experience was being woken up early in the morning with loud trucks and someone hammering/sawing nearby, which is no fault of the facility. Also, because the kitchen is on the second floor where the bedrooms are located, it becomes quite noisy when used by guests. Not great for those who want to sleep past 8:00am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Sentimental Journey in the Beautiful Dreamer room for 3 days. It was a wonderfully cozy, comfortable & clean suite. We enjoyed having our own little kitchen and private back entrance. The owners are so helpful with giving directions and making suggestions. They have a connection to the local history and knowledgeable about different historic events. We loved sitting on the front porch on the glider watching the passersby and chatting with other guests. There's an abundance of food items in the upstairs kitchen area. Fresh fruit, water, juice, milk, all types of cereals, muffins, doughnuts, snack foods, teas coffee, 5 different kinds of coffee creamers, etc. More than I can account in this review. It's one of the reasonable B&B's in a terrific location within walking distance from the downtown area and plenty of restaurants and shops just around the corner. We'll definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: The Beautiful Dreamer suite is the only one on the main floor. It also has a living room area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYFingerLakesFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is one of the more reasonable places to stay in Gettysburg and the location is great. It is within walking distance of shopping, museums, restaurants. It is not the typical b&b, as rather than a prepared breakfast, there is a breakfast room, supplied with cereals, baked goods, juices, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. It fit our wants and needs to a T. The room was comfortable, with nice private bath. Although on a main street our room was at the back of the building, and relatively quiet. I would recommend you consider the Sentimental Journey when planning your Gettysburg trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Baltimore Street is a prime location in Gettysburg, especially if you enjoy strolling the sidewalks and like to be close to shops and restaurants. This B & B will give you this. Walk out the front door, go left to the end of the block and you will arrive at a very nice restaurant that has an outdoor garden area for eating. The inside is also nice with great food. An ice cream shop is across the street and about 1/2 block away. A tree that Lincoln passed on his way to give the Gettysburg address is across the street. Sit on the front porch with your glass of wine or coffee and just enjoy some relaxation time after touring the battlefield.

We stayed in the Beautiful Dreamer suite. It was perfect for us as it gave us more room than a regular bedroom. It was nice having the small kitchen (frig, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, small table with two chairs). The back porch area was usefull for us to store our bags and coolers. You can enter the suite from the front of the building and you will also have a back door close to the parking area (your own private entrance).
The bathroom is larger than most...the tub is the old fashioned step in (which we loved) but if you have any physical limitations, you should probably ask for a room with a walk in shower.

Most B & B's offer a fancy breakfast at a specified time. At the Sentimental Journey you can have breakfast when you want. There are many different cereals, yogurts, and a great variety of muffins, breads, etc. There is also juice, fruit, puddings and bottled water. Other smaller items are available also. The nice aspect of this for us was that we could eat anytime we wanted to. The kitchen is available 24/7 and you will feel like you are back in the 1950's...look at all the antique items and interesting wall hangings.

There is a bit of traffic during the day, which is to be expected in a high profile tourist area. Barbara and Steve are wonderful people and will make your stay most enjoyable. If we go back to Gettysburg, we will certainly stay at this B & B again. Also I feel it has more reasonable prices than others.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the second floor, except for the "Beautiful Dreamer Suite".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Sentimental Journey B&B. The room was very nice and we truly enjoyed the hospitality of the owner. We felt very comfortable.

The B&B was close to nice restaurants and to attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the dreamer model (the one w the kitchenette). It was beautiful and larger than what we thought it would be from the pictures. Right away we felt very comfortable! The owners were so nice and accommodating. It felt like we were staying at somekne"'s house just as I had invisioned that a B&B should feel like. They have a kitchen upstairs that is fully stocked w breakfast thjngs sucks as breakfast pastries, cereal, bagels w cream cheese, etc. they also have fruits, snacks, and juice cartons as well as teas and coffees w flavored creamers. The kitchen is opened 24/7 and we made great use of it.
For other eating, we brought cookware that can be used in a toaster oven and microwave and we stocked up on diners and lunches and kept the good in an apt sized fridge that is in the dreamer room. It was nice eating in the room w the two chair dinette set. They have free wifi and cable tv as well. I loved the antique and vintage decor. The B&B is literally next door to the John Rupp house and a few houses down from the farms worth in so your in the same spot where the battle took place in Baltimore street! Even where Jennie wade got murdered in her susters house is eye shot from this B&B and like a block away so the B&B is etween farnsworth inn and where Jennie Wade was murdered. Even the ghost tours took place in the B&B's back yard! It was a perfect place to stay all around! I seen other B&B places as we walked and I was so glad we chose this place over the others!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenwslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Address: 433 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing