We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Cute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, every thing you could want or need is in walking distance. Want to hop on you bicycle and ride through the battlefields it is just up the road! We stayed in La Belle Epaque room, which I just loved. It made me feel like i was at my Grandmothers.( which was the coziest place ever to be) Everything was kept very neat and clean throughout the B&B. The kitchen was directly beside our room and was well stocked for snacks and drinks. The decor in the kitchen was great!! This was my first visit to a B&B and they have set the standards high.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisygirl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Barbara is a lovely host and the location is fantastic! It's on what appears to be the "Main Street" of Gettysburg. My husband and I enjoyed walking past the historic buildings and small museums to where we were having dinner.

The kitchen service is grab-and-go, which was fine since we had a full day planned. There's fresh coffee, fruit, breakfast breads, snacks, cereals, juices, etc. It's nice to be able to grab something from the kitchen at any time. And there's lots of fridge space in case you need to store your own food.

The String of Pearls room was charming and clean. It faces the main street so we got some of the street noise at night (motorcyclists, helicopter hovering over head, etc) but that was a minor issue. Great, great value - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This B&B was right in the middle of historic Gettysburg. Although I am used to getting full breakfasts in B&B's, this one just had continental breakfast or all day snacks, like Entemanns or fruit. It is connected to an antique store but that did not disturb the hotel part. It was ok for a short visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrown111663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love the 1940's? Is the Romantic era your delight? Love to browse memorabilia? You'll find all of it at Sentimental Journey, Gettysburg. Each themed room is delightfully appointed with period pieces of decor, creating a step back in time to another era. Add to that a well stocked gift shop with items from the past and you have a winner. The rooms are clean, air conditioned (window type) and intimate. There is a ground floor suite for those unable to climb stairs. The kitchen was amply stocked with breakfast, snacks and water/milk. There is reserved, easily accessible parking in the rear of the location. The location is perfect for walking to the center of town or staying closer to explore the various 'haunted tours', restaurants, coffee houses, etc. The staff was helpful, efficient and non intrusive. Go in early June for the blooming of the lavender fields!

Room Tip: Go on line to see the rooms. Short videos for the rooms and lots of information about the inn and t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We actually stayed here in October 2012 but I just signed up for trip advisor today. We loved our stay here and just loved gettysburg as well. We stayed in a room on the first floor. It had a kitchen and full bathroom and a back entrance to the porch. It was clean and very nicely decorated! The owners were very nice and helpful. I forget her name but she gave us a battlefield cd to use during our stay. You put it in your car and it will take you to all the different parts of the battlefield and describe what happened there.
The inn was in walking distance to everything (restaurants, ghost tours, museums, etc.). We only used our car to do the cd tour and to drive to a horse back riding tour. They have a nice assortment of breakfast items in the kitchen as well. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rackle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Barbara greeted us warmly and showed us to our room on the first floor. Clean and cozy room with a nice bath and our own kitchen. The bed was comfortable and king sized. The room had a back door to the parking area which made it convenient getting to the car.

We met some nice folks staying at the inn and the front porch was a favorite gathering spot for sitting and conversation. The inn is located in the middle of town and easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants.

We really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can we say. Stayed 6/10 to 6/13/2013. A great place to stay and within walking distance to everything. Clean and quiet rooms. Great front porch to watch the world go by. Barbara and Steve will help you with your plans if you need any. No formal breakfast but a nice 24 hour snack room. They also did a fantastic matte and frame job for a tin plate photo we had done. Ready the next day. No question, we would stay again!

Room Tip: Book early for the first floor Beautiful Dreamer. Has its own kitchenette and back door.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewhen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Address: 433 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $109 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing