We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love the 1940's? Is the Romantic era your delight? Love to browse memorabilia? You'll find all of it at Sentimental Journey, Gettysburg. Each themed room is delightfully appointed with period pieces of decor, creating a step back in time to another era. Add to that a well stocked gift shop with items from the past and you have a winner. The rooms are clean, air conditioned (window type) and intimate. There is a ground floor suite for those unable to climb stairs. The kitchen was amply stocked with breakfast, snacks and water/milk. There is reserved, easily accessible parking in the rear of the location. The location is perfect for walking to the center of town or staying closer to explore the various 'haunted tours', restaurants, coffee houses, etc. The staff was helpful, efficient and non intrusive. Go in early June for the blooming of the lavender fields!

Room Tip: Go on line to see the rooms. Short videos for the rooms and lots of information about the inn and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We actually stayed here in October 2012 but I just signed up for trip advisor today. We loved our stay here and just loved gettysburg as well. We stayed in a room on the first floor. It had a kitchen and full bathroom and a back entrance to the porch. It was clean and very nicely decorated! The owners were very nice and helpful. I forget her name but she gave us a battlefield cd to use during our stay. You put it in your car and it will take you to all the different parts of the battlefield and describe what happened there.
The inn was in walking distance to everything (restaurants, ghost tours, museums, etc.). We only used our car to do the cd tour and to drive to a horse back riding tour. They have a nice assortment of breakfast items in the kitchen as well. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rackle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Barbara greeted us warmly and showed us to our room on the first floor. Clean and cozy room with a nice bath and our own kitchen. The bed was comfortable and king sized. The room had a back door to the parking area which made it convenient getting to the car.

We met some nice folks staying at the inn and the front porch was a favorite gathering spot for sitting and conversation. The inn is located in the middle of town and easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants.

We really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can we say. Stayed 6/10 to 6/13/2013. A great place to stay and within walking distance to everything. Clean and quiet rooms. Great front porch to watch the world go by. Barbara and Steve will help you with your plans if you need any. No formal breakfast but a nice 24 hour snack room. They also did a fantastic matte and frame job for a tin plate photo we had done. Ready the next day. No question, we would stay again!

Room Tip: Book early for the first floor Beautiful Dreamer. Has its own kitchenette and back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewhen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Pleasant
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed here twice so far and each time was pleasant. Very helpful and friendly owners, good selection for breakfast and within walking distance to everything down town. It's great for me because I am in and out all day. The rooms are very clean and each has it's own charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellePointPleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast is owned by Barbara and Steve Shultz and you couldn't ask for a better couple. They are great people and we had a great time staying at their bed and breakfast. We wanted a weekend away together and we chose this place to stay. It's clean, quiet and if you need something done they are right there to take care of it. They have a 24-hour kitchen that is open at all times with snacks, breakfast, drinks for all. I would highly recommend this place. And if you are interested in Civil War you have the best of both worlds. A great bed and breakfast and a battlefield to learn history from.

Room Tip: We had the room called the String of Pearls, it was a corner room and if you are looking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in this B & B in 2012, and enjoyed it so much we returned in 2013! There are lots of choices of places to stay in Gettysburg and we wouldn't choose anyplace else. We stayed in the Beautiful Dreamer suite. It's on the first floor, has a private entrance, a kitchenette and a large bathtub/shower in the private bathroom. Once again, it was spotlessly clean and so very comfortable. The owner was there to greet us with a warm welcome. She was ready with information and maps, as well. And there is plenty of information available in the common area, too. The room itself couldn't have been nicer! The common area has lots of interesting memorabilia to look at. as well as brochures, restaurant menus, anything you may need. Parking is private of street parking right behind the building - very convenient (and I noticed it was much closer to the entrance then many of the hotel parking lots in Gettysburg). It is an easy walk to the center of town. Very conveniently located. We particularly enjoyed the 24-hour breakfast room. Something for every taste. So easy and convenient. The front porch is just made for sitting in the evening, watching the world go by (or the ghost tours), and meeting the others staying in the B&B as well. It is easy to see the owners of this B&B take much pride in their establishment. This place is great, down to the last detail. (And there are so many details to discover here!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMinor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Address: 433 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing