We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a Stroll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a Stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This lovely charmed house had reflections of a by gone era, WWII flavor to be exact. Charmed kitchen stocked with Little Debbie's, donuts, milk, cereal, coffee, help yourself anytime 24/7. Perfect walking in any direction of Gettysburg: downtown square, shops, eateries, museums, you name it. Me and 7 others had the 2nd floor almost all to ourselves. Sit with a chilled glass of wine on the front porch and watch the crowds stroll by. I just hope that they built a nice patio on the back side, perfecto!

Room Tip: The noise was not bad, we slept on the 2nd floor but the 1st floor room might be more quieter for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
69
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this lovely Inn during the week in October. I made the reservation only 3 days before we arrived and felt lucky to get the last room. It happened to be a suite of bedroom, kitchen, full bathroom and back porch with it's own entrance. The suite is called Beautiful Dreamer. The bedroom is beautifully decorated in Victorian era style with iron bedstead and oak furniture, with a pull out bed/ loveseat in an alcove. The kitchen has coffee maker, toaster oven, small fridge, with period style furnishings. Coffee, creamers, sugars, cups, wineglasses, some dishes were provided. The large bathroom boasts a claw footed shower/tub and a separated commode room with additional sink. The porch was not as cozy as it could be, but was a great place to store our bikes. There is an upstairs breakfast room well stocked with cereals, juices, yogurts, fruits, milks, coffee and teas,breads and best of all, donuts and lots of breakfast pastries. Breakfast is 24 hours a day!

The B and B is very centrally located near tourist shops and 2 terrific restaurants. Farnsworth House, a few doors away, is an authentic period building decorated and costumed in mid 19th century Gettysburgness. Dobbin Tavern is even older and just as unique. The food and service was super in both. The battlefield is very close by, as is the center of town. All in all, a great location.

The proprietors, Barbara and Steve, were super friendly and helpful. They loaned us a self guided tour cd and book for the Battlefield. The cost of our stay at Sentimental Journey was quite reasonable and good value for the price. I highly recommend this charming little B and B.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved our stay in the La Belle Epoque room. Very nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. It is right next to a shared well stocked kitchen area that has lots of breakfast and snack choices. The owners were very friendly at check in. The location is walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the nightly ghost tours. We wished we had time to stay more than just one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Two friends and I stayed in October 2012 in 2 rooms which was connected by one bathroom which I believe was rented to us as a suite. The rooms were called the Moonlight Serenade and Charleston. The Moonlight Serenade Suite was decorated with WWII pin up girls which I thought were in bad taste. There were 13 different pictures in one room with pin up poses of half naked women. I personally, as a woman, found them degrading. I found the price was not the most reasonalbe in Gettysburg for a B&B if you do your homework. The breakfast, which is 24 hour accessible, was basically snacks and nothing hot unless you made toast. We had trouble with the internet connection there being so slow. There were only 6 car spaces which were small at best. On the other hand the house is a great location and is charming. I am reviewing this B&B from a customer point of view and hold no bias only suggestions.

Room Tip: If you want a B&B atmosphere do your homework.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The owners were very pleasant to deal with and the location in the middle of town was great. While there isn't a hot breakfast, the pantry/kitchen is open all the time and well stocked (even with few guests staying). Its nice to have a room themed for WWII rather than victorian or generic hotel decor. The only downside is that the bed in the "String of Pearls" room was overly firm for both my wife and I. With it being cheaper than every other B&B in Gettysburg and being so nice, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although not as old as some homes in Gettysburg, this place has such vintage charm! We had a very cozy stay in the Beautiful Dreamer suite with our own entrance. Snacks, breakfast foods available all day or night was a plus. The owners were very sweet and helpful. The vintage decor was so incredibly interesting. Everything was clean and the old claw foot bathtub was amazing after a lot of walking around Gettysburg. The bed was very, very comfortable. We would stay here again and we are already planning a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: The Beautiful Dreamer suite comes with your own entrance and is located on the main floor with no st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights towards the end of August, and I chose the B&B having read reviews, but also having looked carefully at their website and the alternatives.
Communication was fast and effective and friendly. The room was lovely and the quirkyness of the individual themed room decoration was great to see, as were the items in the breakfast room.
If you prefer breakfast served to you then this will not suit, but we found the arrangement perfectly ok, and could pop into the breakfast room at any time of day for a drink or snack.
Perfectly positioned for a quiet stroll into the centre of town with many restaurants within easy walking distance. Also, perfectly positioned to the the Visitors Center and the Battlefield, and we were kindly lent a set of CDs to do a driving tour which was fascinating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardFleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Tillie Pierce House Inn
Tillie Pierce House Inn
#17 of 25 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
Address: 433 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing