We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see, but need just a little more time”

Eisenhower National Historic Site
Ranked #9 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: President Eisenhower used this farm as a retreat from the White House, then retired here.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great to see, but need just a little more time”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our tour of the Eisenhower farm. You must ride the bus from the visitor center out to the property and you have about an hour and a half there to tour the house, property and museum. I wish we would have had at least 2 hours to completely read everything in the museum. You could stay and board the next bus but it was another 1 1/2 until the next bus would return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    219
    60
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great insight”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you enjoy Presidential history or Ike the man, you have to visit this historic site. Extremely well preserved and organized. A must for your Gettysburg vacation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Loved the opportunities to walk through the home and grounds. Beautiful country and made me very nostalgic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RealReview67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gets better each time...”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We visited this site several years ago when our now 17 year old could still do the special program for young children and it was a warm late summer day. The day we went this time was blustery, but the house was decorated for Christmas and you could just tell that people really "lived" here and it was not just set up for show. We still walked to the barns despite the cold. Ike walked these same roads and paths!! We even saw some of the angus cattle raised there today. The reception center was small, a short film about Ike was very interesting, but the best part was that books written by Ike and Mamie were sold there. This is true American history and it was fascinating. Tour guides were very informative. A must-see in Gettysburg.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lslpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Age of Ike and Mamie”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the home and outbuildings on this beautiful farm at the edge of Gettysburg. You need to get a bus ticket at the Visitor's Center, but that allowed the foundation to keep the site as is. After touring the home, I took a stroll to the show barn. There is an audio tour available, so with a cell phone you are able to stop at the various buildings and hear something about them. They are still raising black angus steers on the farm to this day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr53518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing