We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make time for this while in Gettysburg”

Eisenhower National Historic Site
Ranked #10 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: President Eisenhower used this farm as a retreat from the White House, then retired here.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Make time for this while in Gettysburg”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Of course the battlefield is the main attraction here...and it should be. But if you have some extra time or will be in the area more than a day, this is well worth the time and extra $$. You cannot drive to this site, you must buy a ticket at the Gettysburg Visitor Center and take a bus to the home. You can stay for how long you'd like and take a bus back when you're ready, so you're not rushed through the tour and back on the bus you go.

The short tour takes you through the home and gives you a glimpse into American history, the man, and the Presidency. I had no idea that Eisenhower was also an amateur artist and many of his paintings are in the home, one still in progress when he died.

After the short tour, you are free to roam the property if you wish. We did and it was wonderful. Of course this is not as popular, so it was not crowded at all. We were two of about 6 other people on the bus over.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    206
    58
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A normal home for a great man”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

To get this home you must buy tickets at the Gettysburg battlefield . The bus ride out to the house is very nice. The house is self-guided and very,very interesting. The home is a very normal home, and it's striking for such a great man. The surroundings are pleasant, and you can easily spend 3 to 4 hours here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vindex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great tour”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

step back in time a wonderful partially guided tour and then time to visit the place on your own. A must see next time your in Gettysburg

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank derfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Attraction”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This tour starts out with a comfortable bus ride with a knowledgeable driver. Upon drop off at the Site, there are several no-charge presentations to choose from if so desired. We went to a couple of them within our time there, which were very well done and informative. The home tour was very well done. You are able to stay as long as you want to walk the grounds and just relax. This is a top notch attraction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Discover the President's Retirement Home from 1950's”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This house was a blast from the house and it shows President Eisenhower's history. I did not know too much about him, but left with a good picture of he and his wife. The house is fully explored and has many relics from the 50's. It was decorated for Christmas and had all original artifacts from the home. You have to park at the battlefield museum and get tickets there and the bus will take you to the home. It costs 7.50 for adults. It was raining the day we were there so we only viewed the house, but if it were better weather you can walk the grounds as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing