We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully preserved” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eisenhower National Historic Site

Eisenhower National Historic Site
Ranked #9 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: President Eisenhower used this farm as a retreat from the White House, then retired here.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully preserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The retirement home of Dwight & Maime Eisenhower. 60's decor, and many of the gifts given to the Eisenhowers over the years. This is definitely work a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    203
    58
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth the $7.50”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Eisenhower purchased this farm in Gettysburg during his presidency and retirement. This is a $7.50 tour of his private residence and farm. Very informative and enjoyable on a good weather day. Worth the $7.50 and 2 hrs. Purchase tickets & get the shuttle at the National Visitor Center.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Gettysburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I'm so glad we did this tour. You really get an appreciation of Eisenhower and all his accomplishments. The house is wonderful with all of it's furniture and decor. It's like a time capsule from the 1950s. Stop in the gift shop because it also houses artifacts from his days as the Supreme Allied Commander in WWII as well as artifacts from his presidency. Do sit down and view the documentary film there to learn more about Ike. FYI: peek in the garage near the house when touring the grounds to see two of his automobiles and the golf cart he used to get around the property!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GManzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbery Twp., Pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Step back into time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

It is well worth the time to visit the farm the Eisenhowers lived on. It is like stepping back into the 1950s. I especially like the WW II encampment held each year in September. Very interesting.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoeS610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit -- thin on history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The main atttraction is Eisenhower's farm that he and his wife spent their golden years. NPS did a great job in perseving the place. Majority of the stuff were from Eisenhowers. The ground is nicely maintained. Surrounding is pleasnt. View was great.
Our children participate in a Jr. secret service program. They had to do certain activities to earn a similated secret service badge. It was a great hit with them. The program was fun. They were into it. I highly recommend this Hr secret service program.
There was not a lot of information about Eisenhower. We know almost all the nformation in the exhibits. We did not learn more about Eiserhower than we already know.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing