We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprisingly inhospitable treatment for a Hampton” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly inhospitable treatment for a Hampton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

About two months ago we reserved the suite with fireplace for a holiday treat and anniversary get away. We were about an hour away when we received a phone call from the Hampton telling us that they were under construction to renovate the breakfast room - the construction had just been approved the day before which was the excuse for the late call - and there would be a lot of noise. We were given the choice of getting a downgraded room at Hilton Gardens or a reduced rate on the suite. I seriously love Hampton Inns. We had a wonderful time the year before and loved the suite. One of the main reasons we choose the Hampton was because we loved this room. Perhaps I could have understood better if they had given us advance notice, but two hours before we were to check in and on the road to our destination seems unforgivable. We had rearranged work schedules and gone to a lot of trouble to plan this trip, something Hampton management did not seem to care about. I am so disappointed because I really love the Hampton but this experience has me totally disillusioned. We choose to return home but we will pursue this further.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank janlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgGM, Manager at Hampton Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our renovations and for the short notice you were given. We hope you will not let this experience tarnish your opinion of us and that you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect from us the next time you plan a getaway. We appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you back.

Thank you,
Tim Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    172
    64
    19
    11
See reviews for
271
191
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
166 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Gettysburg Hampton Inn is a solid, well-run, clean, comfortable hotel - as good as you get in the Hampton chain The rooms are large. The bed was very solid and comfy. Everything worked in the bathroom. We had a reasonable price. The breakfast is above average for this sort of hotel, with plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful.
My only reservation is that it's next to a shopping center on a major route (though the hotel manages to be quiet). You can walk to a Walmart, to a pharmacy, and some chain restaurants. But that's probably not what you came to Gettysburg for. If driving everywhere doesn't bother you, then it's no problem. The battlefriend is just a 10 minute drive away. But central Gettysburg is a pleasant 19th century town, and other hotels allow you to stroll around from your hotel.
On the other hand, Hampton Inn is right where Rtes. 15 and 30 meet, so it's convenient on arrival and departure. Your call.
(One minor gripe: the exercise room just has three cardio machines. No weights. And don't expect a real pool: it's too small to swim laps.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bed was great. Room was clean. Good TV. Good service. Breakfast was OK.

Overall, the hotel was very good.

We were placed in the ground floor "family suite". Major issues.... exercise room is next door. Treadmill... at 6:00 AM sounded like and elephant stampede. I wanted to sleep... but couldn't since the elephant wanted to exercise. Maybe the front desk could have warned us or placed us on a different floor.

The bathroom door hinge needed oil... of course we found this out in the middle of the night when the rest of the family made trips to the potty. 4 potty trips... and we were all woke up 4 times.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family suite on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have been travelling to Gettysburg, PA since 1975, and consequently have stayed at a number of motels. This one has now become our favorite. It is impeccably clean and well maintained. The staff, from the desk people, to the maids and breakfast attendants, are personable, efficient and very competent. The bed was the most comfortable motel bed in which we have ever slept, and the pillows were comfortable as well. The rooms have little extra amenities, such as a hook outside the shower, for hanging towels, or whatever. Plenty of towels are provided, and the room itself has a closet (with doors), refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. There is also a computer desk area with WIFI and desk chair.

Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had- scrambled egss, egg, cheese and bacon bagels, hot oatmeal already prepared, make your own waffles, danishes, bagels, toast, fresh fruit (as in cut up for a salad), yogurt, dry cereals, 4 juices and coffee. The breakfast attendant was continuously wiping off the tables, making sure everything was well supplied and asking guests if they were finding what they wanted.

There is also an indoor pool at this motel. Parking is free on the premises in a lot directly behind the motel. There are four floors with sufficient elevators. Check-in and Check-out were a breeze.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting Gettysburg we reserved two rooms at the Hampton Inn in Gettsburg Pa. The Rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The Breakfast Bar was really good and the food was good. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here before, and again, we were very happy with our accommodations this time around. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the room has an excellent set-up for PC's and other electronics. The staff was friendly and helpful; the lady at the Front Desk obviously knew the area and gave us a great local recommendation for dinner. We highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBeachers29526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms were so clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable! When I return to Gettysburg I will absolutely look at staying here again! I liked that it was right off the highway and an easy ride to down town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1280 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing