We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good... need to pay attention to details” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good... need to pay attention to details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bed was great. Room was clean. Good TV. Good service. Breakfast was OK.

Overall, the hotel was very good.

We were placed in the ground floor "family suite". Major issues.... exercise room is next door. Treadmill... at 6:00 AM sounded like and elephant stampede. I wanted to sleep... but couldn't since the elephant wanted to exercise. Maybe the front desk could have warned us or placed us on a different floor.

The bathroom door hinge needed oil... of course we found this out in the middle of the night when the rest of the family made trips to the potty. 4 potty trips... and we were all woke up 4 times.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family suite on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    196
    71
    21
    14
See reviews for
306
224
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have been travelling to Gettysburg, PA since 1975, and consequently have stayed at a number of motels. This one has now become our favorite. It is impeccably clean and well maintained. The staff, from the desk people, to the maids and breakfast attendants, are personable, efficient and very competent. The bed was the most comfortable motel bed in which we have ever slept, and the pillows were comfortable as well. The rooms have little extra amenities, such as a hook outside the shower, for hanging towels, or whatever. Plenty of towels are provided, and the room itself has a closet (with doors), refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. There is also a computer desk area with WIFI and desk chair.

Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had- scrambled egss, egg, cheese and bacon bagels, hot oatmeal already prepared, make your own waffles, danishes, bagels, toast, fresh fruit (as in cut up for a salad), yogurt, dry cereals, 4 juices and coffee. The breakfast attendant was continuously wiping off the tables, making sure everything was well supplied and asking guests if they were finding what they wanted.

There is also an indoor pool at this motel. Parking is free on the premises in a lot directly behind the motel. There are four floors with sufficient elevators. Check-in and Check-out were a breeze.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting Gettysburg we reserved two rooms at the Hampton Inn in Gettsburg Pa. The Rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The Breakfast Bar was really good and the food was good. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
372 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here before, and again, we were very happy with our accommodations this time around. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the room has an excellent set-up for PC's and other electronics. The staff was friendly and helpful; the lady at the Front Desk obviously knew the area and gave us a great local recommendation for dinner. We highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBeachers29526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms were so clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable! When I return to Gettysburg I will absolutely look at staying here again! I liked that it was right off the highway and an easy ride to down town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton with some friends for a wedding in October. This location was one of the last places to have space available for the weekend we needed. This said we were not sure what to expect. We were greated by a very warm and friendly front desk recentionist who knew who we were without us having to tell her. The wedding was at 3:00pm so we asked for early check-in which they accomodated with no problems. Mary at the front desk was very informative giving us tips on places to visit, places to eat and even driving options to the Links at Gettysburg for the wedding. With no taxis or buses in the area, they went as far as to offer to pick us up from the wedding venue if we needed it. Breakfast the next morning of omletes, bacon, waffles, bagels, etc, etc.. was warm and delicious. Most importantly the room was so unbelievably clean, sheets were fresh and crisp, the bathroom bright, every inch felt clean and ready for us when we walked in. All in all a great visit and I will be staying there on my next visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton for two nights while we visited the Gettysburg area. Stayed on fourth floor in a King bedroom using our Hilton Honors points so not sure what the actually rack rate would be. Room was very large and roomy with a large flat panel TV for evening relaxation, a wet bar having refrig and microwave; clean bath with plenty of towels. We were at the end of the hall away from elevators which put us over-looking the highway. A little traffic noise early Mon AM due to trucks but Tues AM was much quieter. Since the area is developing, perhaps some large equipment was being moved around that first morning. Hampton puts vending in its own "room" on the floor and the elevators made little noise. Of course, we were traveling during late September and there were few families, so the hallways were very quiet. However, how our bed was situated in relationship to the room door, I doubt we would hear much anyway. All the hotel staff we came in contact with were very friendly and gracious 'hosts' during our stay. Hampton breakfast offers hot & cold items along with very fresh fruit; it was very good. Hotel was only a short drive to Gettysburg National Military Park, downtown Gettysburg (if you want to park and walk around to visit shops and restaurants). There is a Ruby Tuesdays restaurant across the road from the hotel; food and service were very good. Walmart and a few other chain stores nearby in case you need any supplies. Hotel has an indoor pool and small whirlpool surrounded by glass on the backside of hotel; we didn't use it but walked past as it can be seen from the parking lot. Looked like a place where a family could unwind after a day of touring. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling as a couple or as a family.

Room Tip: Upper floor (only 4 floors at this hotel), not overlooking the highway may be the most quiet if traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestedSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing