We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and found it to be quite average, no real *wow* factor. The staff is very helpful and friendly and check-in was fast. We requested adjoining rooms and our first two rooms the door lock in between the rooms was broken so we were assigned another set of rooms which worked fine. The elevator closest to the front desk also would not work a few times we tried to use it. The pool is on the small side (15 person capacity) and the hot tub is literally the smallest I've ever seen at a hotel. My tub at home is larger. The hotel is clean, the breakfast was fine. We had just returned from a stay in Jekyll Island GA at the Hampton Inn there and so had such high expectations. The Jekyll Hampton Inn is beautiful, filled with little extra amenities, and cost the same amount as the Gettysburg Hampton Inn. It was a bit disappointing value wise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 844 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a good example of how a "cheaper" chain hotel can offer high quality service, amenities and cleanliness. The rooms are nicely appointed, very comfortable beds and pillows and everything was spotless and clean.
The price was high for a Hampton even with a AAA discount, but this was in Gettysburg at the height of the tourist season, but the efficiency and friendliness of the staff and the comfort made it worth it.
If you are a tourist,you can access all the sites around Gettysburg very easily. Shops are close by for basic needs with your basic chain food places across the
street.
The front of the hotel is right on an intersection so if you like quiet choose a room facing the back of the hotel. Be prepared to haul your bags through the hotel since, for some reason, the parking is at the back of the hotel.
I recommend this as a good place to stay in this area

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archietew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed in several places in Gettysburg. This is one of the nicer ones. Rooms were clean and neet. The staff was great! Right off Route 15. If you do not want to deal with the traffic in town this is a great place to stay, close to all the attractions,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. Cocktail lounge is just off the lobby. Entire experience was good from check in to check out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelertraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed at Hampton Inns many times. The rooms at this location were larger and decorated in a more modern and pleasing manner. Plenty of room to move around. A nice desk area with wardrobe, draw down blinds. Microwave/sink/reefer area, a large bathroom. The check-in process was without problem.

The included breakfast was good and plentiful, although the seating area was small. The exercise room could use some small weights.

We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkelmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only got to spend one night at the Hampton Inn Gettysburg, as this was a last second, spontaneous trip to see Gettysburg National Park. Upon arriving, the staff was friendly and the hotel was clean with plenty of parking. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

In the morning, a free breakfast was available, which was a nice bonus that we weren't even aware of as we booked this from the car while driving there. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Gettysburg. There may be some cheaper options out there, but from passing them on the road, they looked a bit undesirable, so it's worth it to pay the extra for this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

When possible we stay at Hampton Inns because of the comfortable beds, well appointed rooms and friendly staff. However, we were very disappointed with this Hampton Inn. I need to add we are members of Hilton Honors that allows us to have on file our room preferences in their reservation system. All times prior to this stay our preferences have been fulfilled. Our preference is simple, a quiet room away from the elevator and road traffic. Not an unreasonable request. Reservations for this stay was made a week in advance. We checked in by 3:00. At check-in the friendly hostess said if we are not completely satisfied with our room to let her know. I said as long as it is a quiet room we will be satisfied. We were put in room 300, end unit but facing the very busy Route 30--the 4 lane main road leading to downtown Gettysburg. The Inn is on the corner of a 4 way intersection, so we got to hear all the traffic stop and take off. As soon as we realized this, we called the front desk and expressed our dissatisfaction. Nothing could be done because the hotel was full. It is a Saturday night, there was basketball and baseball tournaments going on plus Gettysburg is a popular tourist stop. We had no choice to change rooms or hotels. As a consolation, $13.00 was deducted from the bill....give me a break. I would not recommend this specific HI if you want a good night's sleep due to all the road noise. Just down the road less than 1/4 of a mile on the left, set way back from the 4 lane road is a Hilton Garden Inn. I would recommend staying there instead of this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Unable to give a tip because the hotel won't honor your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 02TravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.5 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1280 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $85 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing