We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special other than the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nothing special other than the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for two nights while in town to visit Gettysburg College. We chose this hotel because most of the other places around were sold out and, of the remaining places with rooms, the Hampton Inn had the most reasonable price.
The hotel has updated the guest rooms and guest baths. I thought this made our room seem fresh and modern. The lobby and breakfast area have not been updated and look very tired and worn. We did not stay in our room very much as we were out and about to visit the school and check out the surrounding area. We found our room to be comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. The ventilation in the room worked well. The breakfast area in the lobby had an odd set up which made the area not work - there always seemed to be a lot of congestion both around the food station and around the seating area. The selection of food was the typical fare that is on a hotel breakfast buffet that is included in your room price - nothing fabulous but enough to get the day started. The hotel has an indoor pool as well as a fitness center. They do not have a business center but offered a computer cart shoved in the corner of the lobby as the business center - the problem.....the computer was out of order! This was a problem for us as we did not travel with a laptop and needed to use a computer!
We found a back way over to the college so we were able to zip right over avoiding some of the York Road and in town congestion - this was probably one of the things we liked most about this hotel!
Since we will have a student at the college over the next few years we will be in this area again (many times). We will consider staying here again if the price is right!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    203
    75
    21
    14
See reviews for
324
244
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
735 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn with really nice juice/coffee bar set up all the time. Good breakfast. You can book bus tours to the battlefields through the hotel. Several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed over night to go to an Open house at Gettysburg College. Our room was had been recently painted (minor fresh paint smell). The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of storage space for toiletries under the sink. My one complaint was that the room seemed dark because we were over the portico which blocked light when the window shade was up. The hotel was a short car ride from the center of Gettysburg where there are several nice restaurants, although there are a few dining options very close to the hotel. If you venture into the square area, be prepared to wait for a table on a Friday night. This is a college town, afterall. At check out, I asked for directions to the college and was given a nice printout with clear, easy to follow instructions. The front desk folks were very nice and very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

we stayed here for one night over March break on our way back from Myrtle beach. the room had new carpet , new paint, new bedding, and was very nice, fresh, newly renovated, wil stay here again, close to highway , good breakfast too!

Room Tip: away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am in Gettysburg, PA this week for work, of course. I would like to start by saying it is a beautiful area, and the drive down here had some beautiful scenery. Of course that is once your beyond NJ. There wasn't anything sceinic before NJ, but that's another topic. This hotel has a very attractive lobby, and friendly front desk staff. The rooms are spacious, and have decent furnishings. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are large. Once again though we run into very slow internet. I think that has been a theme of mine for several trips now. I have stayed in some hotels that have lightening fast internet. This is not one of them. Since Gettysburg is more of a tourist spot than anything I don't see this as a necessity here. The vending machines, and ice machines need to be addressed. There is either one or another on each floor, but not both. It's annoying when your running around in your PJ's.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleSparky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is the worst Hampton I've seen. Nasty stains all over the furniture; very dated interiors; a desk with no electrical outlet... really? Is that supposed to be a joke? At least the staff are great, the breakfast is decent, and the bed was not gross. 5/10

I've read a lot of positive reviews on this hotel... all I can say is that I asked for the nicest room, and one of the chairs had a nasty poo-stain on it (the highlight of all the various stains found on the furniture). Hampton Inns are not normally like this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed 2 nights for a weekend getaway vacation. Clean, large room with King-size bed. With the typical furniture of desk, closet, large refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink,...etc. Free wifi access as always. Good hot breakfast buffet with a very pleasant staff overall.
However, indoor pool and jacuzzi were both abit cool in temperature, so did not really enjoy those amenities.
Pleasant overall, safe and predictable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is facing the parking lot. We had a room facing the roadway and traffic continu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRLZHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing