We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotelier loved the Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard West Orange
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Reviewed January 17, 2007

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in West Orange twice this past month for leisure travel and loved it both times. The rooms are really nice, modern, and well decorated. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows, which I like. The bathrooms were very clean and well-kept, as well. My reservations were always in order when I arrived and the front desk staff was very personable and friendly. On my second stay, I requested a late check-out, and it was granted without a problem! I've worked in hotels for years, and I know good service when I get it... this was good service! I will definitely be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megaberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2006

Excellent value for money. We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute. Each member of staff we met, without exception, was welcoming, helpful and friendly – nothing was too much trouble and our son, who lived nearby and whose wedding was the purpose of our visit, was impressed by the fact that the staff always seemed to know where their English guests were! The hotel is well appointed and spotless. The bedroom was spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The swimming pool is fairly small but totally empty during the evening so I enjoyed having a private pool and Jacuzzi to myself. Breakfast was varied and high quality, excellent value for money – it is only a pity they don’t do evening meals. The only shortcoming we found, bearing in mind that it is a hotel aimed at business people, was that the bar closes soon after 10 pm. We were on holiday and coming out of New York most evenings and we found this inconvenient for a nightcap. If you don’t have a car, as we didn’t, the only way to go to into New York is by taxi to Orange Station (c.$10) and catch a train to Penn Station (c.$8 return) but we found these charges a small price to pay for the quality of our hotel compared with the prices of New York hotels. Thanks to the hotel, we found an excellent taxi owner named Fenn who drove a superb limousine. He was friendly, reliable and took us everywhere we wanted to go. If you need a taxi, ask for him at reception!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Stella2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We recently spent one night at the Marriott Courtyard. The roooms are contemporary and big in size. The beds were very comfortable. We stayed here because we were leaving for the airport early in the AM and this was about 15-20 minutes away.
The only downside is that the morning buffet is $10.00 per person. It's ok if you are traveling on business, but we were traveling for leisure and didn't have to pay this type of fee with other hotel chains.

1  Thank chicagomember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

I travel quite a bit for business and personal and had the opportunity to stay at the courtyard hotel. I was initially concerned because the price was so low that it may not be to nice. I was very suprised to find a brand new hotel. It is the nices courtyard I have ever been to. The room was very modern and the beds were very comfortable and you had plently of space/ My Hir dryer burned out while I was there but they fixed it very promptly.

Next door to hotel there is a macy and grocery store and shuttle to NYC all within walking distance. I would definetly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sssooonnniiiaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Naoki_Inui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arbi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
747 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard West Orange

Address: 8 Rooney Cir, West Orange, NJ 07052-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $163 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing