We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great! What a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard West Orange
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great! What a nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a nice surpassed. We stayed there while our house was being renovated and I didn't want to leave. The rooms are stylishly completed, clean and comfortable.
Great service especially Moynette, she was extremely nice and helpful especially with the children.
It was in a great location, close to every necessity, even the movies...
If you need to be in New Jersey, stay here. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxidiataltys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    49
    13
    16
See reviews for
62
27
9
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The worst part of the hotel is the maze like path to find an elevator. I had to drag my luggage quite a distance to find it. There is a breakfast only semi- fast food counter for breakfast. The coffee in the lobby ran out mid-morning. I did get a few smiles but this property is Very average. Nothing stood out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for responding to us via Trip Advisir for your July stay. We apologize our Bistro was not to your liking. Many of our guests would still welcome the old breakfast buffet, yet our brand has taken this direction, so we do hope it is something you will consider in the future. All meals are prepared fresh, so the quality is quite good. Our entire team is most grateful for your cooments and candor, and we do hope you will try the Courtyard brand again. Rob Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great staff and very helpful with questions about travel and bus/subway!! We had lots of questions, and they were so helpful to get directions and maps for us. We went to NYC and needed to know best route. They were very willing to call car service also. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Holly P., thank you for your wonderful response via Trip Advisor for your July stay. Your comments about our staff were so wonderful, and appreciated by all! Best wishes for a lovely balance to 2013 to you! Regards, Rob Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for few nights. My partner and i were visiting in the area. The hotel is in close proximity to everything. Restaurant, the Movie theatre us right next door. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again. We had a small issue whereby something was broken in the room and the hotel addressed the issue right away. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you're going to visit Seton Hall, it is a great location to stay. Easy trip to university, without having to deal with Newark related traffic. Room was fine, although pullout was quite noisy every-time daughter moved. There is complimentary coffee, but food, latte style drinks and alcohol are only available via the pricey food vendor. Staff was very polite and accommodating. Grounds are well maintained. Price is comparable to most. Nothing makes me go ahhhhh, but nothing would prevent me from staying again because of convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uscg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you're going to the West Orange area, I'd definitely recommend the Courtyard by Marriott. Enjoyed a weekend there recently. The staff is outstanding, from check-in to check-out, the folks who work in the Bistro are very good, housekeepers are thorough and efficient, and the front desk people are very accommodating and helpful with local directions. The room was very clean and everything worked exactly as it should. This will definitely be my hotel choice for any future trips to the West Orange area.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a balcony facing the courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon! Rob Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spoke with management about a few issues--loose cable connection that rendered HBO difficult to hear; leaking faucet when running water in bathroom; and drain that stuck. That being said, the room was clean, comfortable, and close to where I needed to be for the weekend. And they've put back the free coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Location in the hotel did not matter to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are so grateful when our very valuable guests take the time to provide us with feedback, as we use that as the very fabric of our ongoing training efforts, towards continuous improvement. Again, on behalf of all of us at the West Orange Courtyard by Marriott, we thank you, and hope to see you again soon! Rob Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard West Orange

Property: Courtyard West Orange
Address: 8 Rooney Cir, West Orange, NJ 07052-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing