We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard West Orange
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Pawleys Island, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lives up to Marriott standards”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a Courtyard that lives up to Marriott standards. Huge, open reception and lounge area with a deli style restaurant that is open until 10 PM if I remember correctly. The exterior is very nicely maintained and walking distance to a Mall that contains shopping and restaurants. The rooms are typical for a courtyard; well equipped and clean and the rooms were extremely quiet. What more could you ask? The front desk was very helpful during my one-night stay and called for taxis when they were needed. The taxis were always on time. The only downside to the stay was the in-house restaurant breakfast. My colleague had to return her breakfast as the egg dish was like rubber. Definitely not edible. However, the hotel refunded the cost of the meal without hesitation.

Room Tip: My room was highly satisfactory in my first stay at this location. The area is quiet and I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjohn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S I, Director of Sales at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is very importatn for us to have your feedback. This review will be shared with our team. We hope to have you staying with us soon.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    51
    13
    16
See reviews for
64
27
9
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A Hampton Inn is a much better deal for a higher-end hotel. Was clean and beds were comfortable but the room overall didn't have the freshness of a Hampton Inn. Halls were dark. Tub faucet had a one inch gap from the wall. No nightlight in the bathroom. A/C was slightly noisy with a buzzing sound that was in a continuous five second loop. Whirlpool didn't work. Told desk clerk and two of them checked it out. Said they'd need maintenance to fix it but it wasn't fixed before we left the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yastillgotit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The updated room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I didn't hear banging doors, children running through the halls, or any typically disturbing sounds. I would have enjoyed a few extra amenities that I have grown used to in the competing Hilton Chain like coffee and fresh baked cookies. But these were not available. The Internet connected easily. No password was needed-a definite plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S I, Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott West Orange! Hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I spent a night here. The room was quiet, clean and recently remodeled. There is a pool, a small gym, free coffee/tea, and a cafe (which I didn't try).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike b, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Scherzva,
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit with us here at the West Orange Courtyard. We truly appriciate your kind words regarding your stay. Our Hotel has recently completed an extensive reniovation and we are very proud of the results. It is our mission to provide all our guest with a pleasant and comfortable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights so only one room cleaning was needed. The maids did not clean the bathroom at all, leaving the used wet towels on the floor and half-filled garbage can. It took 2 calls to front desk to get clean towels and the dirty towels removed. Checkout morning, the maids woke us up at 9:30 although check out was at noon. They knocked again at 10 am. When I pointed out that we were checking out and they could clean after we left, the maid mumbled about not knowing that we were checking out although the final bill was already slipped under our door that morning. Overall a bad experience and would recommend against staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike b, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mary W,
Thank you so much for for sharing your thoughts reagarding your recent stay with us here at the West Orange Courtyard. We truly value input from all our guests, especially if we have fallen short of providing the utmost in comfort and service. I am sincerely sorry that our Housekeeping department failed to provide proper room cleaning during your stay. I can assure you that this is a rare occurance and I sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. Please contact me directly if you are visiting our area again so that I may personaly see to your complete comfort and satisfaction. Thank again so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Orange hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Courtyard West Orange is a solid choice for lodging. The place is clean, comfortable, has an indoor pool and is not too bad on the wallet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basil_hayden65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike b, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent with with us here at the West Orange Courtyard. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

There are few choices in the Roseland, NJ area. The Courtyard West Orange is about 5 miles away and easy to get to. It is standard Courtyard and good value for the money. I was working on this trip so I got a suite and it was large and nicely furnished. The workout room was small and limited. The staff was friendly and helpful. Best option in the area.

Room Tip: The king suites offer and log of room for the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike b, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review of our Hotel. We strive to provide each of our guests with the utmost in hospitality while also providing good value. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard West Orange

Property: Courtyard West Orange
Address: 8 Rooney Cir, West Orange, NJ 07052-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing