We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Highlawn Pavilion

Highlawn Pavilion
Reserve with OpenTable
Highlawn Pavilion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

One of the 10 best dining experiences we've ever had, and we've been to many fine restaurants. Professional, well-paced service throughout the meal. Caviar special appetizer was worth the price ($72) as was the crudo fish tasting. Nice variety of entrees offered. My husband's osso buco with saffron risotto was perfect as was my diver scallops special over risotto with lobster sauce and chanterelle mushrooms. Desserts were creative and delicious. View is unmatched on a clear night. A perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    95
    27
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“romantic”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

with the views of nyc in the background and the exemplary food & service this restaurant is a must even if you are staying in nyc and have to get there by crossing the hudson ! as well as an upscale romantic dining experience the bar scene is fun hip and casual.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fantastic veiw of NYC from terrace , excellent food- Poor service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Highlawn Pavilion, in addition to its excellent restaurant, serves a bar menu on its incredible terrace. It is a limited menu but still very good. The view is AMAZING! A panoramic sweep of Manhattan Island! The last 2 times we have been here the service has been awful. This time server never even poured our wine, we did, and to to get his attention I had to go into the restaurant and ask for him. They must use the best servers in the interior dining room which also has lovely views. Highly recommended for drinks & light dinner, but be prepared for non existent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL an experience not to be missed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Took my wife here for her birthday and have to say this is one of the most wonderful dining experiences we have ever had. I travel a lot for work, and will say this ranks as one of the finest restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of dining at. From the moment you drive up the road to the restaurant you are struck with the fantastic view of the New York skyline in the distance. Once inside you are greeted by an extremely cordial staff who have know no bounds in trying to make your dining experience memorable. Our Waiter Yildirim was very helpful with suggestions and explanations of their menu and made our visit a real pleasure. That being said, the reason you go out to dine is for the food, and the FOOD here is 5 Stars. We spent the ride home talking about how great the experience was, and planning our next visit. It was an 85 mile drive in each direction and I would do it again in a moment, that's how good this restaurant is

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“wedding reception in a beautiful building, with a gorgeous view”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This review is of the banquet food, as we were attending a small wedding there. First of all, the Eagle Rock park that this place is in sits on offers an amazing view of the New York City & Newark metro areas. Take a minute to visit the September 11th memorial on the walk up to the Highlawn Pavillion.
The wedding started early on a sunday and immediately there was a gourmet cheese display, a carving station, olives, pickles, cold seafood bar with oysters, shrimp, smoked salmon with all the accompanying sauces, capers, etc. There were some other warm foods available while the bar was open the whole time. We seriously thought that that was the dinner, and that we had gone to a "brunch" type reception since the actual wedding had happened a month prior. So we stocked up on food, since there was plenty to go around.
We were so wrong....that was just what this place calls a "cocktail hour." Absolutely ridiculous amount of quality food for a cocktail hour. It was excellent. We made our way upstairs to their gorgeous banquet room with a glass window wall overlooking the valley and the city skyline. The steak I was served was cooked a perfect medium and the dessert tray was once again ridiculous in the best possible way. There was a chocolate covered strawberry, multiple flavors of gelato, and a mini creme brulee, and something else I didn't have any room left to eat.
After the reception, it was normal dinner time, and people were rolling in to eat dinner here. Everyone seemed to be enjoying the atmosphere and were dressed very nicely. They were very friendly in accomodating a large portion of the wedding for cocktails in their lounge (which was already buzzing with regular guests) by quickly pushing tables together and taking our orders.
More or less, a first class wedding reception. Every piece of food served there was delcious. I would highly recommend to people looking for a charming, top-notch banquet place in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeretxaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlawn Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Highlawn Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing