We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 1, 2007

To start off with, as a member of a wedding party, I called several weeks ahead to book my room only to be informed I missed the deadline to book under that wedding party!! The individual was SO rude on the phone and only after speaking with a manager did I get a room under the group rate. Upon arrival at midnight the night of the wedding, I was given a key to a room that supposedly had 2 double beds. However, I did not get to find out since that room was OCCUPIED. Nothing like trying to key into a room only to have the door opened by a man in his pj's. They then gave us a room with a King size bed. Only it was the handicap room and smelled like an ashtray!!! However, at that point, having been doing wedding things all day, I crashed in the room. Upon telling the front desk this, they claimed to have taken $50 off our stay. However, the next day I discovered they had charged my credit card the full rate PLUS $20!! I am still trying to get my money refunded. Word of the wise, if you are having a wedding nearby, have your guests stay some where else!!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeysgirl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 546 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2006

We booked out over 20 rooms for our wedding guests and each of them were thrilled & impressed with the hotel- the property, the rooms and the service. To be honest we were reluctant at first, because of the reviews but so glad we stuck with them! In the middle of our planning they were taken over by new management and we worked closely with the head of sales as well as management and they were such a pleasure to work with and extremely accommodating! We have stood at other highend hotels in the area which were reserved for weddings we had been to, but we feel this far surpassed them and at a much more reasonable price! And they have a shuttle! There was nothing better then knowing all our overnight guests could let loose and not have to worry about drinking and driving.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Goin-To-The-Chapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

This Hotel took reservations for 8 rooms for our party which were guaranteed with Credit Cards and confirmed the Thursday before the Saturday arrival. This was to be a wedding weekend for family and friends. The reality was the Hotel accommodated just the Parents of the Bride, all others including the bride and groom were sent to two other locations and spent the better part of the evening being shuttled around Essex County. It should be noted that 2 other wedding weekend parties for the same time period were also displaced; in total some 50 people were without rooms. I would recommend the Marriot Courtyard in the same area, the rooms were priced better and it was a brand new facility.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank desomma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

I had nothing but trouble with this hotel and I would never recommend it to anyone. First they told me that the shuttle wasn't available adn that I had to pay $200, when I had confirmed a shuttle for my day 3 weeks prior, but that was just a start to it all. Then, 2 days before the wedding, I went to check that all of my rooms that were booked were confirmed and they told me yes. Well, when 2 of my guests went to check in they said that they overbooked and that they were getting sent to another hotel and they couldn't take the shuttle, so my father had to end up driving to the reception and therefore wasn't able to drink and have a good time. Then at 12:30pm, when the reception was over, the bridal party and the groom and I went to go check in , only for them to say that all of our rooms were gone, because they overbooked. Can you believe that on my wedding night they overbooked my suite and therefore I had no where to go on the most special night of my life so far. I had the most horrible experience with this hotel and would never go back to them, even if my life depended on it. Beth

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank basebs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We were supposed to stay here after my sister's wedding. We all went to check in after the wedding, and they had given our rooms away to other people. They had also given two other wedding parties' rooms away; they even gave away the bride and groom's room! If you want to watch several brides cry on their wedding night, stay at the Wilshire Grand Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank digitalgd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My family raved about the hotel. After my wedding I received many calls about the Wilshire. My family and friends all were very pleased from the free breakfast to the hotel restaurant. I don't know what happened to the other people in the previous reviews, but my new wife and I had no problems from our first call to the hotel, until we checked out. I guess everyone has bad days. I would reccommend the Wilshire for anyone who wants something more than a Hampton or a Holiday Inn. The Wilshire is unique, at the right price.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I booked a block of rooms for my wedding. Upon our arrival I was told that they did not have the reservations for the bride (me), the groom and one of our groomsmen. I proceeded to give them all the information that they need (confirmation #) and was still told SORRY we are booked. It took over an hour for this "mis communication" to settle yet, our groomsmen did not get his room. He had to stay with the groom. Needless to say, I was late to my own rehearsal dinner due to the mess that we had to go through.

Then... to make matters worse NOT ONE OF MY GUESTS INCLUDING THE BRIDE AND GROOM got any sleep due to other guest screaming and drinking in the halls (bottles were everywhere). We complained all night and the hotel would only give some guests a refund for half of what they paid. They are still fighting and it has been over a month since we stayed there. Staying at this hotel was nothing but a headache!!!

Do yourself and your guest a BIG favor and STAY ELSEWHERE!!!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank bynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#1 of 4 in West Orange
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
728 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
13.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $160 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 200Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing