We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nj
1 review
“Great Service”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We had 120 guests at our class reunion held at the wilshire we also had a block of rooms for the out of towners it was great working with Nelsy she always returned my emails and answered my questions Everybody truly enjoyed our 30 yr reunion and cant wait to do it again, the hotel was beautiful and clean and the breakfast was great

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    115
    46
    26
    21
See reviews for
171
97
33
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATL/LA/FL
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed at the Wilshire Grand because our wedding was held at the venue attached. I have to say that the wedding was phenominal and I have nothing bad to say about the Wilshire Grand Caterers.
The HOTEL on the other hand, I have a mile long list of complaints. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The only reason I would recommend this hotel would be if your wedding is being held next door it is convenient to not have to drive anywhere.
We had the BRIDAL suite for the whole weekend and we had many guests that were supposed to be coming down for the weekend from all over the world. We made a mistake and waited too long to book some of the rooms for our guests past our cut off. Therefore, the hotel released our held rooms to the public. When we tried to book the rooms we were lied to by hotel management who told us the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Every time we called we were told that they were sold out for the weekend. It turned out that they were NOT sold out but simply didnt want to honor the wedding rates for our rooms and therefore lied to us so we wouldnt make a fuss.
When we tried to check in on Friday at after FOUR pm (when check in is at 3) we had to wait for our room for 30 minutes. We had another guest there who was staying Fri through Mon who had to wait for his room for TWO hours, even though it was after the check in time of 3pm.
On Saturday morning we left our room for some hours and returned early afternoon to find out our BRIDAL SUITE has not bee cleaned. Some great service for the bride and groom. When we called the front desk we were told that housekeeping is leaving at 4 and they can only clean the room now. I mentioned to them that now is NOT a good time because we came back to the room to rest before our rehearsal dinner. The staff was far less than even remotely accomodating. When I contacted one of the managers with my disappointment she actually rectified the situation, arranged for the cleaning and even delivered some goodies to the room to try and make up for the situation. This manager would actually be the number 2 reason I would recommend the hotel because she did go above and beyond and was very helpful.
We left the hotel with a sour taste in our mouth mainly for the above 2 mentioned reasons among others.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levinrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I used the Wilshire Grand for my wedding hotel block (I got married at Crystal Plaza in Livingston, NJ, not far from the hotel). They were absolutely wonderful!! Nelsy, who works at the Wilshire, helped me every step of the way. She gave me suggestions on who could do my hair and makeup the day of the wedding. She also helped me arrange shuttles to and from the Wilshire Grand to my wedding venue (which were free of charge and ran perfectly)!! The rooms were spotless and gorgeous, we even had a jacuzzi in our complimentary room the night of the wedding!!!

In addition, the hotel provides free breakfast in the mornings. As I had messed up the times for brunch for the day after my wedding, Nelsy accomodated me and extended the hours for the free breakfast in the lobby.

We had our rehearsal dinner at the hotel, and they were amazing! They even used the leftovers from our rehearsal dinner for our after party at the hotel bar.

I could not ask for more from a hotel. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DcAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

She is so competent and helpful. We held our daughter's wedding at the Wilshire Grand and Nelsy organized our block of rooms and dealt with an enormous amount of details. Nelsy is the head of social sales. We had a huge amount of requests and Nelsy saw to it that everything was handled very professionally. She is also very upbeat and extremely good at working with people.

We loved the WIlshire!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM854631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The Wilshire Grand really takes care of its guests: the rooms are well-equipped, the staff is extremely helpful and courteous, there are snacks at happy hour and even warm cookies in the afternoon!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The Wilshire Grand is a notch or two above a standard business class hotel and comfortable in many ways, but fails on one important basic -- lighting. I don't need luxury, but in order to be comfortable, I have 3 needs beyond cleanliness: a good bed, a good shower, and decent lighting.

Bad lighting cast what I would describe as a gloomy/green palor over our suite. Not only was it seriously lacking in brightness, it was impossible to see myself well enough in the bathroom to put on my makeup. As we were there for a formal evening event, this was an issue. I was informed by the front desk that they had converted to fluorescent bulbs a couple of years ago, and while I applaud their energy conservation efforts, clearly a lighting consultant was not involved. They had no other bulbs or make-up mirror available. I ended up going to CVS and buying natural color light bulbs and putting them in all the standing lamps. The overhead lights were still bad/inadequate, but, along with a hand held magnifying mirror, I was able to see well enough to apply mascara. Given the number of weddings and formal events held at this hotel, I would think that lighting would be more of a priority.

Other than the lighting, our suite was large and clean, with a great 2-person multi-jet shower, a spotless jacuzzi tub, and pillow top mattress (a little too soft for my taste, but most would find it comfortable). Decor was not the epitome of luxury, but certainly fine and there was a good iron and ironing board in the closet.

There were a couple of housekeeping issues during our 2 night stay. On Saturday, we returned to our room after 3:00 p.m. in order to take a nap before dressing for a formal evening event only to find that Housekeeping had been there and stripped the bed, but had not been back to clean or put on new sheets. After calling to complain, we waiting almost 40 minutes before our room was made up, at which point we had to forget about the nap. As if to make up for this, at 10:30 a.m. on Sunday morning, check-out day, the maid came in to clean -- not only before we checked out, but also without knocking first. Someone needs to coordinate the housekeeping staff a bit better. Also, the refrigerator/freezer in our room was either never plugged in or unplugged by the cleaning staff, and a pint of ice cream we put in melted all over the freezer -- not a big deal.

Overall, the stay was fine/acceptable, the front desk staff was friendly, and the grounds are beautifully kept. Breakfast was perfectly ok with enough choices for everyone and good fresh fruit salad. There is no swimming pool.

If lighting isn't something that you are particularly sensitive about, you may easily have an enjoyable visit..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberta516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I recently got married at Nanina's in the Park, and we booked a block of rooms for about 60 guests at the Wilshire Grand. Our experience was wonderful. We worked with Nelsy, who helped to coordinate everything, including our shuttle to and from Nanina's for about 60 guests!

Our number one requirement with choosing a hotel was that it had to provide shuttle service for our guests and there had to be some sort of complimentary breakfast for everyone the next morning. The Wilshire Grand & Nelsy met these requirements with flying colors. She also went above and beyond to make sure our honeymoon suite was complete with rose petals and champagne!!! Our wedding was wonderful and it was so great that even after the wedding was over, we got to come back to a beautiful, clean hotel with nice people and an awesome bar in the Primavera Restaurant to keep the party going at! :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RuggRedBank_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Property: The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing