We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was a great find! The staff was incredible! They could write the book on customer service. The hotel has a shuttle which will take you to your destination (reasonable distance of course). The hallways were quiet, and never heard any street traffic. The free breakfast was extensive and very good. When I arrived back each day after a long day of work, there was popcorn popping, hot chocolate chip cookies... and if you think that was great - each evening there was a managers reception - bacon wrapped scallops and mini cheeseburgers. There was also beer and wine for a very small fee. Room service was fast and the food was delicious I will always come back. .G. Size

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade, if available the charge is reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailS560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear GailS560,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I much appreciate the time you have personally taken to post your experience with our friends at TripAdvisor. We remain # 1 with TripAdvisor in West Orange and have received their Certificate of Excellence. We have been # 1 with TripAdvisor since February 2008!

Thank you!!

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 574 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked a little getaway for a night through a groupon deal a few months ago. This hotel exceeded our expectations! Not only is the outsite beautiful, but the inside is beautifully decorated and CLEAN. Our room was spacious, quiet and well laid out. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The restaurant, Primavera, was delish!

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who feels like staying close to NYC without paying a high price for a small cramped hotel in the city. Go here!!! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Danielle D,

Thank you very much for posting high marks regarding our hotel product & services. My staff and I are very pleased that you took the time to post this wonderful review with our friends at TripAdvisor. Did you know that TripAdvisor is one of the few hotel review sites that actually assure postings and reviews are completed by actual hotel guests so they cannot be faked or created dishonestly. We love TripAdvisor for that and expect many review sites to follow in their footsteps! This assures honest and legitimate engagement with real guests. Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hope I spelled her name right! Haven't even stayed there yet, but Capri could not have been more helpful! I made a mistake and booked at a seedy hotel without knowing what it was like! They said it was nonrefundable, but she called and made sure that my reservation was fully cancelled and I wouldn't be charged. She was sweet, helpful and reassuring. She confirmed my suspicions about the other hotel and warned me that it would not be the safest for me.
Can't wait to stay at the Wilshire and will look for Capri to thank her in person!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank thankful23_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Thankful23_23,

Thanks for letting us know about Capri's recommendation and the assistance she gave you. Capri has been true service asset since she arrived hare and your comments are much appreciated. We await your arrival and I too look forward to thanking you personally for your patronage and friendship!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked this hotel for the proximity to a business mtg. Very nice, clean, well appointed rooms in a great location for restaurants and shops. It was quiet even though there was a very large wedding party staying there the same night.
Breakfast buffet in the morning was perfect.
They had a very small exercise room that did need a little TLC.
Will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear MayorMike12,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We gauge our service success on TripAdvisor more so than any other e-commerce review site. The reason is because each review is verified and proven to be a real guest now. Often sites don't verify and reviews become questionable. The fact that you have reviewed nine other hotels makes you a Senior Contributor and your review is taken even more seriously, not just by my own staff but all readers on TripAdvisor. On your next trip please reach out and contact me. I would truly appreciate your comments on how I can get that perfect score from you on your next trip!

Much appreciated!

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Wilshire Grand Hotel is my go to choice when working in New Jersey. They always take good care of me. I've probably stayed here 3 times already and am returning again next week. The rooms are comfortable. They know i am noise sensitive and always give me quiet rooms.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Greg P,

Thank you once again for your kind comments. As you know by now we depend on "word of mouth" as well as official legitimate reviews that come from our TripAdvisor friends especially. Please stop by & say hello your next time in so I may have an opportunity to reward you with your loyalty with a complimentary suite upgrade!

See you soon!

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed over one night for short get-a-away. Room was classy, lovely design. Bath amenities perfect. Pillows and beds the most comfortable and high quality. Outdoor space for seating and gazebo is beautiful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear li b,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy you had the chance to look around and see our property in spite of our recent questionable weather. In a few short weeks our tulips will be in bloom and we'll again be maintaining our gardens and Yappy Yard. Thanks for noticing the added touches we provide and please let me know when you're returning so I may have the opportunity to thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wilshire Grand Hotel for a NYC Girlfriend Weekend Getaway. I travel quite often and have stayed in many, many, hotels and I must say that this is by far one of the best experiences I have ever had. The rooms are beautifully decorated, ultra clean and so comfortable! The staff is excellent as they are efficent, friendly and polite. The complimentary breakfast is convenient and delicious offering a variety of breakfast food from freshly made waffles to cereal and danish. The hotel is conveniently close to the big apple for a fraction of the cost. I will not only take a trip back and stay at the Wilshire, I will recommend and even try to plan another trip with all of my friends and family from Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Karen Rawlings

Room Tip: We occupied 2 rooms, one was a suite and the other a double occupancy. Both were spacious so I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kar6721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your kind words! They're very much appreciated. I'm sorry I didn't get to say good-bye before you left. Next time! It makes me proud any time someone from my old stomping grounds recommends us. Hoping to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
261 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
853 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $135 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 200Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing