We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money!”
Review of Garden Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My daughter and I were both pleased with our experience at the hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. Their included breakfast can't be beat! We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful! We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Turtle Brook Inn on a business trip. Though my first impressions of the hotel were less than positive, I grew to like the hotel during my stay. My initial impressions (small parking lot, no elevator, older furnishings and room features, bathroom a bit dated) were balanced out by the niceness of the staff, the comfort of the bed and pillows (GREAT pillows!, an excellent shower and a good breakfast. It turned out that the location was central to a lot of the customers I visited, so, my initial misgivings were more than balanced out. The rates were more than competitive for the area, so, all in all, it was a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spazebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Best Western Turtle Brook Inn is the best value for money you can get in North Jersey, just minutes from NYC. It's always like going home, and the rooms are great and the place is always immaculate. Have no doubts. This is a GREAT place to stay and you will not get better value anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went to Seton Hall to see my son. We always stay at TurtleBrook. The staff is the best !!! Very helpful and accommodating. We fell like Brian and Paula are family. Location is close to malls and the school. Rooms are comfy. Will be there again in May.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank cadamiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay was excellent. Good Service and good breakfast. Very caring staff. Easy access from Garden State Pkwy. It was raining heavily when we arrived, but the lovely young llady, at the front desk came out and helped with our luggage. This was very appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bncoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel was a great value, with the breakfast included. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Nice having the free wifi, along with nice flat screens televisions, with plenty of channels. If you're looking for a decent place to stay, without breaking the bank, this try this location

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cj612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Manager at Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear CJ , Thank you for your review of or our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I thought this hotel was a bit over-priced ($155/night) considering the location & the fact that I pre-paid, but overall it was a satisfactory stay. We were a bit concerned when we checked in because there were no other cars in the parking lot, but by the time we came back after dinner, the place was packed! Check in was friendly and courteous. We had ground floor rooms which looked out to the front parking area. Rooms were clean and beds acceptable. Front desk gave us good directions to get gas and find dinner - an easy straight line run right up Northfield Ave into Livingston. Can't complain. This was an adequate stay for what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Manager at Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank You for your recent review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.1 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
556 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
222 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
622 reviews
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
755 reviews
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $133 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing