We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Brook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
West Orange, United States
1 review
“Turtle Brook”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is very old, the smell of the rooms and the lobby is terrible. If you can please avoid this hotel. There is a lake nearby where strolling is ok. I guess that should be enough for now. The two hundred characters seem to be too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gyorgy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    33
    23
    22
See reviews for
69
24
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
caribbean
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

the hotel is small, comfortable, the girl at the lobby was so nice, when we checked in, very accomodating, very helpful with everything, is well located, especially if you are visiting your kids at seton hall university, they should have someone helping with lugagge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rosannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Rosannar , Thank you for your review. Sometimes it is not practical for us to have someone there to help with luggage , At the time of your arrival we were in the process of changing shifts and our night porter had not arrived yet. We do provide a luggage cart for guest use. In the future if you are arriving late with a lot of luggage , just call ahead and we will make sure that someone is there to help with luggage. If you plan on coming back call us directly to get the Seton Hall University discount . Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

1. yes we are positive!!! someone from your hotel used our credit card.
2. your employees didn't had to still our credit card from the 'management system'- we gave the credit card information by phone to one of your employees to reserve the room.
3. you should know that we were carrying a lot of cash- as you now, we paid for 15 nigths in cash only!!!
3. 'hackers' would not order food from restorants near the hotel in west orang, would they? there were orders of food from dominos pizza 3986 in main street new orang and from pepe's BBQ in west orang).
4.you didnt even bother to reply us when we called you to inform about this scam. you acutely ignored us And didn't take the responsibility as the owner of the hotel. if you did, you could have find the responsible.
4. We are sure that in the same way you decided to ignore credit card scams from your hotel you will ignore styling from the rooms.
5. We already got all the damages covered by our credit card company, but we feel morally responsible to alert other potential clients.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liattovim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Orange hotels

West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at the BestWestern over 3/1/2 months, The good points are location, easy access to the NJ TURNPIKE, GW, Bridge and tunnels, I enjoyed several amenities of the hotel such as the gym, and the free breakfast, the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean. PS' there is coffee and tea provide it" I would like to thank the staff for making my stay enjoyable!!! . The owner Brain was very , very helpful with all our needs during our stay.... Thanks again Bestwestern and staff!!! R. BELL

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You for you review. It was nice to have to have you stay with us. Hopefully you will get your house back in order after your fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Md.
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable. Attentive staff. I stay here because the price is right (and considerably less than other hotels in the area). Comfortable beds. Good size room. Ask for room in rear (quieter). Wi-fi. Ample breakfast. No elevator. If stairs are an issue, stay on first floor. Turtle Back Zoo and ice arena across the street. Lots of good restaurants within 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I travelled from out of state to attend a wedding. Pros: Decent sized room Clean bathroom, sheets and towels Everything worked Front desk staff was pleasant Cons: Price is too high - I have stayed at much nicer places that cost $30-$40 less per night Old building, stained carpets, weird smell Air conditioner (wall unit) was louder than a Mack truck Balcony had metal bars and extra locks on it (always comforting) Overall: As a young guy looking to crash after a night of partying at a wedding, it was OK...let's say 7 out of 10 on the rating scale

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank You for your recent review of our property, Sorry that we fell short . Trip advisor doesn't give us your date of stay or room number so we have our staff checking all rooms with patio doors. Just wanted to mention that we don't have bars on the doors, it is a secondary patio door lock.. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had two rooms at this hotel July 2013. Absolutely dirty smelly hotel. They have electronic air freshners plugged in all over to mask the odor. Black mold in the bathroom. Laminate coming off the toilet seat. Has limited internet reception in the rooms. Staff mentioned there are dead spots. Everthing is outdated, furniture, beds, electronics, etc... The television was so old it didn't even have a sleep option. The staff was very friendly. We had to stay in the area for three more nights and fortunately found the Westminster Hotel in Livingston. It's a four star hotel that cost only $20 more per night than theis Best Western and was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I sent you a request thru Trip Advisor to reach out to me , but no response. So we were unable to match a rate of another hotel which was very low. I explained to you only had a few rooms left and to discount down to that rate I would be throwing away money . I also said that you would be very happy there . So when you didn't get your way , you then decide to trash my hotel. If what you wrote was true I would have been out business along time ago .By the way I do know who you are .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.1 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
525 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
217 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#1 of 4 in West Orange
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
686 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
515 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing