We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$211
$122
Official Website
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Residence Inn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard West Orange(West Orange)
$159
$143
Courtyard
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada East Orange(East Orange)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westminster Hotel(Livingston)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Fairfield)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
43
46
34
26
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
46
34
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonly stayed one nightcomfortable bedsdiscounted rateconvenient locationpleasant staybrooknjcomputersrustaccommodationschannelsnyc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

my family and i went to visit some friends in Newark and decided to spend a day at West Orange zoo. the hotel across the street seemed a smart choice! OMG, the room smelled awful, we had hair all over the tub and sink, the sheets looked dirty and had strong cigarette smell and the worst, we were insulted by the manager!!!! How can BW allow to have someone like that as a hotel manager!!! She was extremely rude and denied the facts!!! Unbelievable! Her desk and office looked discussing and so was she and her (lack of) manners!!!! this should be seen by the hotel higher management because she is really a mean and unprofessional person!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ntag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

To me, this is a motel 6 and worse. Don't be fooled by the pics, this place is not for business stay and def don't even think about bringing the wife or that special someone. . The furniture is very old, the tv is old, carpet is dirty, and the place smells of cigarettes. Spend the extra $40. And stay at a Marriott, even if you need to drive an extra 20 minutes.
If I can figure out how to upload actual photos - ill gladly do so.
The staff was very nice and the fitness equipment appear to be top notch. There's a beautiful park across the road and I'm hoping to go running there in the morning.
The dining is limited as most of the restaurants listed on google maps - have shut down with no replacements. There is a McDonald's and subway within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I would never stay here again if someone paid me. I was upset with the hotel clerk for not stating their rates before charging my debit card $172 to stay there for 7 hours. I was on my way to PA from NYC and started falling asleep while driving therefore decided to pull over and sleep and shower. When they sent me a survey to fill out over email I gave most ratings an average score because the hotel is definitely nothing above average. For the pricing rating I put poor because its not worth a rate of $149.99 a night by far! I then received an extremely rude email from the hotel manager because I gave the hotel a poor rating! I emailed him back explaining why he received the rating I gave and told him I didn't appreciate the rude email and didn't deserve it and the man emailed me AGAIN and stated word for word "I wasn't being rude just stating facts" as if that wasn't rude in itself! !! Very displeased with my experience here and would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lepperhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a family emergency and, very late at night, we were looking for a place to stay for the evening. The front desk attendant, Anita, could not have been more sympathetic to our plight, and booked us quickly, calmly, and made sure we were able to take advantage of all the amenities of the hotel. What a nice lady. Made a stressful situation much easier. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights for my daughter's graduation from a local University. The amenities (breakfast bar, 24 hour coffee, newspaper, and lounge area) were top notch.

I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the Orange area of New Jersey. The prices are reasonable and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms were were clean.

The only complaint I would have on an extended stay is that they do not refill the toilet paper, shampoo, and soap. I know you can call on that, but I always travel with extra just in case. I know hotels think they are saving on this, but sometimes the little things do matter.

Room Tip: If on an extended stay, either bring in your own extras (toilet paper, shampoo, etc.) or be prepared to call the customer service desk.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegasusmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews