We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in the Orange Area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Warren, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in the Orange Area!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights for my daughter's graduation from a local University. The amenities (breakfast bar, 24 hour coffee, newspaper, and lounge area) were top notch.

I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel if you are in the Orange area of New Jersey. The prices are reasonable and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms were were clean.

The only complaint I would have on an extended stay is that they do not refill the toilet paper, shampoo, and soap. I know you can call on that, but I always travel with extra just in case. I know hotels think they are saving on this, but sometimes the little things do matter.

Room Tip: If on an extended stay, either bring in your own extras (toilet paper, shampoo, etc.) or be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasusmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    33
    23
    22
See reviews for
69
24
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Where to begin....I traveled to the Best Western from Ct, for a family wedding! There was no wedding discount rate applied which wasn't a big deal. I had booked my room well in advance for a king size bed, in fact I still have the confirmation email. Upon my arrival I was told my room was given to someone else who had to extend their stay and that I would be given a room with 2 double beds for $15 off...REALLY?!? This is the compensation I'm given for being inconvenienced! To top off the situation other hotel guests checked in after us that were not part of the wedding and given rooms with king sized beds! Still not the worst....I told the desk attendant that I would speak with the owners upon check out bc I was not at all satisfied with the room, there was 4 squares of toilet paper on the roll neatly folded into a point...seriously! There was also hair in my bed and trash in the pail....still not the worst! I never got to speak to the owners the next day since the clerk told me they were unavailable, but when another family member expressed my dissatisfaction was told I was quite satisfied with the room. Here it is the day after check out & my boyfriend is covered in bed bug bites!!! Disgusting all over his torso, and legs! I strongly recommend staying else where...in fact another family member stayed 11 miles down the road and had a flat screen tv in the room and it was cheaper rate!!! I will be writing a formal letter to the CEO of the Best Western and I hope that you look into other places before staying at the Turtle Brook Inn!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kgbslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Orange hotels

Wilmington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just returned from Best Western Turtle Brook Inn & I loved it. I was here with a small group and found the staff, owners, and quality of the Inn excellent. The front desk staff were extremely professional and full of ideas for things to do with our group. Also, coming back to the hotel after a long day was easy as the beds & pillows made falling asleep so easy...The cleaniness of the hotel was great as was the ease of finding food and recreation in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in need of a place to stay in West Orange or the surrounding area. Great Job!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a nice balcony & the rooms in the back are very quiet...so either way yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBI555, Owner at BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear April , Thank you for your review. if was a pleasure to have you and you students stay with us. I want to add that all of your students were polite and very friendly. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here New Year's Eve 2011 in order to enjoy a night in New York City. It is only a 4 mile drive to the South Orange train station which was convenient. The motel is dated but kept up nicely, my biggest gripe was getting charged an extra $20 for having 4 people instead of 2, even though I put 4 on the travel site when I did the booking. In addition to this I realized at check out that they charged me for a rollaway bed that I never asked for, an additional $20 that they said they will take off but at the time of this review has yet to come off my credit card. Besides that the hotel is very adequate, it is safe and comfortable although the double beds were pretty small. We didn't wake up in time to experience breakfast so I have nothing to report on that. So all in all, it is a decent place, especially on a night like New Year's Eve when it really is only serving as a crash pad

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RutherfordtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was a great place to stay in October, 2011, when I was in NJ for a high school reunion. The reduced prices for a group stay made this a very fair value. I am in a wheelchair (manual), and was able to get around with little or no trouble, even though the ramps are a bit steep!

There is a wonderful TV room with a large TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve 2011 to attend a special event. Front desk staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful - particularly with directions to local attracations and restaurants. Room was clean and tidy - beds were AMAZINGLY comfortable. Bathroom was clean and shower was great. No elevator so ability to use stairs is a must and free breakfast was barely adequate. Still the free breakfast is not a big deal to me; security, convenience, cleanliness, friendly, helpful staff and value for the price are my top requirements and this hotel devliered in a big way on all. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at a lot of hotels and this was the absolute worst!! I made a reservation at this hotel for 5 nights because it was close to the hospital where my husband was having surgery. Firstly, the front doors which lead to the lobby were blocked off. I had to enter through a back door, which I subsequently found out was open 24/7. There was no physical security and anyone entering via the back door could not be seen by the front desk clerk. Moreover, I had to walk through a large dark parking lot and pass by an abandoned restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Very dangerous, especially for women or children. In fact, this place was so unsafe, I spent the night sleeping on a chair in my husband’s hospital room. The next morning, I complained to manager and he was extremely nasty and refused to give me my money back. The only good thing about this hotel is it’s location as it is very close to Turtle Brook Zoo. On a positive note, I found a GREAT upscale hotel just a few miles away. The hotel is called the Westminister, very good security, lots of amenities (spa, indoor pool, gym, etc.) very nice rooms and super management. And the cost of staying at the Westminster was LESS than the Best Western. Please, if you value your safety and the safety of your family, do not stay at the Best Western Turtle Brook Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.1 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in West Orange
524 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#1 of 4 in West Orange
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
682 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
514 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing