We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Stay Again”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve 2011 to attend a special event. Front desk staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful - particularly with directions to local attracations and restaurants. Room was clean and tidy - beds were AMAZINGLY comfortable. Bathroom was clean and shower was great. No elevator so ability to use stairs is a must and free breakfast was barely adequate. Still the free breakfast is not a big deal to me; security, convenience, cleanliness, friendly, helpful staff and value for the price are my top requirements and this hotel devliered in a big way on all. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    33
    22
    20
See reviews for
67
24
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at a lot of hotels and this was the absolute worst!! I made a reservation at this hotel for 5 nights because it was close to the hospital where my husband was having surgery. Firstly, the front doors which lead to the lobby were blocked off. I had to enter through a back door, which I subsequently found out was open 24/7. There was no physical security and anyone entering via the back door could not be seen by the front desk clerk. Moreover, I had to walk through a large dark parking lot and pass by an abandoned restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Very dangerous, especially for women or children. In fact, this place was so unsafe, I spent the night sleeping on a chair in my husband’s hospital room. The next morning, I complained to manager and he was extremely nasty and refused to give me my money back. The only good thing about this hotel is it’s location as it is very close to Turtle Brook Zoo. On a positive note, I found a GREAT upscale hotel just a few miles away. The hotel is called the Westminister, very good security, lots of amenities (spa, indoor pool, gym, etc.) very nice rooms and super management. And the cost of staying at the Westminster was LESS than the Best Western. Please, if you value your safety and the safety of your family, do not stay at the Best Western Turtle Brook Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Orange hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As Seton Hall parents, we have stayed here a couple times. This hotel is close to the campus and several great, restaurants. The staff is always welcoming and friendly. As usual Paula and Brian (the owners) made us feel like family - greeting and chatting with us. Large, clean rooms and there were grab bars in the shower and by the toilet, which eased my mind about the bathroom and shower. (my elderly mother-in-law was with us). I thoroughly enjoyed the waffles for breakfast. We will book again for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadamiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was looking for a 1-night stay out of NYC - clean, comfortable, relatively inexpensive, not too far off I-280 - and I found it at this Best Western. Breakfast was surprisingly good too.
The room was large, the bathroom clean and the shower pressure I gave an "A" - good shower pressure is very important to me.
I only stayed one night so I can't talk about the motel's convenience as a bedroom for a multi-day New York City visit but it only took me 40 minutes from the time I got out of the Theatre at 10:30pm on a Wednesday night to get my car, make my way through the Lincoln Tunnel, onto the Jersey Turnpike and I-280 to the property.
I'll definitely return when I need this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocovp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel so we could have easy access to New York City. This hotel is not only conveniently located within driving distance to the city (there's also an affordable bus you can take from across the street), it is also extremely clean and friendly. This was our second stay at this establishment. Each time we arrive we are greeted by friendly. accommodating staff. The owners are always around which gives the place a family-friendly feel. The rooms are spacious, the breakfast is above average for hotels of this kind and there is ample parking. I highly recommend anybody looking to visit NYC or the amazing zoo across the street without going bankrupt to book your rooms at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to give your room a larger feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a room on the second floor. There is no elevator and the circular stairway is difficult to navigate with luggage. Our room was spacious and clean. The shower had excellent pressure, one of the best showers we have had. The breakfast was typical motel fare, but well organized and stocked. There was plenty of room to sit and eat. The hotel also offers a coffee bar through out the day with decaf in the evening. Check in was a little confused but very friendly. From then on, no one on the staff, including the manager, would greet us or even make eye contact. It did not detract from the stay but was rather annoying. Not exactly a welcoming atmosphere!!! All in all we would stay here again. The location is central to several North Jersey towns and offers good value. A friendly occasional "Good morning" would make it even better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Don't really like BW's in the US but I read the reviews and stayed. It was good. Front desk was helpful and pleasant. Rooms large and clean. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
3.1 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn West Orange
Residence Inn West Orange
#2 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
Address: 555 Northfield Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing