We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for relaxing lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McLoone's Boathouse

McLoone's Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
McLoone's Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 96 Restaurants in West Orange
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Northfield Ave
Transit: NJ Transit 73
Description: Located within the South Mountain Recreation Complex, McLoone's Boathouse sits on the banks of the reservoir, showcasing spectacular views to our customers. McLoone's Boathouse features seating for 240 inside, with an additional 80 to 100 outside (FIRST COME, FIRST SERVE BASIS ONLY),as well as semi-private dining area that is perfect to host your next party, corporate function or other special event. Please know that reservations will only guarntee inside seating in our main dining rooms and does not include outside dining. Thank you!
New Jersey
Level Contributor
472 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wanted a special place for a relaxing lunch. Beautiful restaurant with very nice outdoor seating. Service good (but restaurant was not crowded and we wanted it slow) and food was very good and large portions. Prices were a little high but not terrible. I would recommend for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    126
    137
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have been to the boathouse about ten times now. The employees are very, very nice, just not always very efficient. The outdoor area at night is fun and funky. The food is a mixed bag of good and bad. The raw bar is excellent, appetizers sublime, but almost never happy with the entrees. We will probably continue to go here, just going to stick with appetizers as meals. It is a bit on the expensive side, but not outrageous. On a Saturday night there seem to be a lot of big groups and the kitchen has a hard time handling that. Last time we went on a Saturday it was very crowded with large groups and we waited about 30 minutes after we finished our apps for our main course. The Sunday brunch is fun, who else offers unlimited mimosas? And all you can eat raw oysters. Though it is not set up well, really hard to get to the food when it is crowded. We gave up on omelette s as the line was too long and there was no room to really wait on the line anyway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenzoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Lovely Spring Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent an afternoon at lunch with my 2 nieces. We were seated outside on the patio overlooking the reservoir. My niece commented that she felt like she was on vacation! We had the edamame, with sea salt and lime. I love edamame!! My niece had the crabby patty, which was quite good and my other niece had the veggie sandwich, which I didn't actually taste. I had the shrimp po'boy, which I really enjoyed. It's not inexpensive, but the atmosphere makes the cost worth it. We went over to the Turtle Back Zoo after lunch, which is really becoming a great destination! They have the Sea Lion exhibit open now and just love to watch those wonderful creatures!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, Otherwise Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The building, the bar, the outdoor dining area and overall scenery are great. Unfortunately, my family and I came to have dinner. That's where things didn't live up to expectations. The menu is pretty good, but definitely overpriced. The cowboy steak had more fat than meat, the so-called crispy calamari appetizer was anything but crispy and the chicken risotto was bland. The Mahi, Mahi was a decent size and tasty, but overall, the food was very average. You could get the same meal somewhere else for much less.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
�G|ϗϨ�
Level Contributor
714 reviews
495 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Big and noisy but fair bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Waiter attempted service but the kitchen did not cooperate . Food was ok and a little better. Not really a favorite . Th atmosphere inside was sort of like a mess hall

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLoone's Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to McLoone's Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing