We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooms - But, why no Movies?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Rooms - But, why no Movies?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great rooms. Clean, spacious... They keep the hotel very neat and tidy.

Just wondering why there's no option to rent in-room movies?

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    83
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
92
45
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

It's interesting to read the other reviews, but I think you need to compare this hotel to its peers. It is not a full service Marriott. It is a Residence Inn! Having stayed at many Residence Inns this one is at the top of my list, and here's why:

1. Old world charm hotel - not your typical cookie cutter Residence Inn. Many of the rooms are much larger than a standard Residence Inn especially when it comes to the bedroom.
2. Great TV selection - this hotel does not skimp on the number of channels you can get.
3. Breakfast - this place has a great breakfast. Usually there are eggs, fruit, meat, oatmeal and more. Often there is a breakfast sandwich.
4. Snacks at night - decent free food at night. (If you get there early)
5. WiFi - I have not had an issue at this hotel.
6. Exercise Room - not bad - has three treadmills and two ellipticals and some free weights. Decent size indoor pool.
7. Staff - the people like their jobs and it shows. Always welcoming and helpful.

There is high end restaurant next door, however, I have never eaten there. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from a shopping center that has a Whole Foods.

Overall, this is great Residence Inn. In fact, it better than some full service Marriotts I have experienced.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is on the 1st floor and the gym is on the second floor. The back of the hotel ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altaskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a wedding that was close by. While the staff at the front desk and breakfast area were very friendly and helpful I would not stay here again. The bed was well worn where you can actually see it sink in the middle. The hallways and the room had a musty unpleasant smell although to be fair I am not sure if that was because of the dog in the next room who barked constantly. I didn't mind it so much but my husband was none to happy. We found that housekeeping did not move empty glasses from table in room they were pushed to the corner of the table. Only local channels on tv and a cartoon channel for the kids. Ordered a horrible meal from Pal's restaurant, it was way over priced.

Room Tip: try not to stay close to the pool area. Kids run up and down the hall screaming. Also, in room 129...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwmsvacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
359 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

1st trip to this site. Clean , updated, luxurious ! Breakfast was well attended to, will try the bbq dinner tonight. Looks likes a european country house ! Easy to garden state pkwy.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stay at this hotel quarterly and have never had issues. The staff seems very friendly and willing to assist you with anything

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 4 nights attending a wedding in the area. The building is friendly, built in a mock-old worldly fashion but cozy and warm.
I had a suite room, the room was huge, well furnished. I had one tv in bedroom, one in the living room. The kitchen area had all mod-cons you could ask for including hob, oven, microwave, coffee machine and big fridge. There were crockery available, pop-corn, cofee, tea, sugar, etc. There was a table that could easily sit 4 people for dinner. The hotel offers free of chage basic grocery shopping. There is a Whole Foods very close, where you can buy great food and practically cook or store anything you like in your room.
I didn't use the leisure facilities so I cannot comment on that but I could see people using the pool and the gym.
The hotel doesn't serve regular lunch or dinner. But there is delivery available from local shops.
The breakfast was plenty and a generous selection. Go early to avoid the crowds and have a great breakfast. The fireplace and sitting area at the breakfast area was great and could be used in the afternoon and at night to hang-out and sip your drink.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Negatives were that the rooms looked a little tired and old fashioned, bathrooms a little in need of a make-over or refurbishment.
I had free wi-fi internet. IT was really good and quality connection so much so I could use it for internet based phone and video calls.
I thought the price was a little on the expensive side, but on the other hand there aren't many hotels of this quality available in the area; therefore it is good for what it offers if you need to stay in this particular part of the town.
Automatic aircon ensure the room stayed the desired temperature all day.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and would go back if I have to visit the area.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards courtyard are quieter and rooms at the far side of the hotel are larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a visit to West Orange NJ. We stayed here and everything was just superb. Upon arrival we were welcomed with smiles and a willingness to get us settled in as quickly as possible. The rooms was great and very comfortable. This is expected from a Marriott and as always they delivered. My wife and I enjoyed this property and look forward to returning. I really enjoyed sitting by the fire place also the breakfast was delicious. Thanks for making our stay a pleasant one.

the Phillips

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMAN0431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.6 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
Address: 107 Prospect Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing