We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn West Orange

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here for five nights after the October snowstorm. Very, very comfortable huge bedroom/living room/kitchen suite! Terrific free breakfasts, and food for dinner three nights a week. Terrific staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caryaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    81
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
91
45
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

An unusual October storm blew through NJ, leaving many stranded and escaping homes damaged by trees falling or just downed power lines. The Residence Inn handled the storm refuges flooding the lobby with great service and speed. Kudos especially to Mercy who was indeed our source of mercy on a frigid night when we had no other recourse. The room was large, clean and easily accomodated our family of four.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed her for just 1 night on October 6th. The staff and services at this place are unparallel to anyother place. We checked in at 6 pm and were upgraded to a 2 beadroom suite. The beds are just amazing. The coffee is as good as the one at Starbucks. Will definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 211.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pari072808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the Residence Inn and had to put up with a barking dog across from my room. The response from management was a meager apology and can't help attitude. Additionally, the toliet was plugged when we arrived and had to be fixed.

Room Tip: If you do not have a pet and must stay here, demand a commitment on a no pet section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is the nicest Residence Inn I've seen. It's beautiful and the staff were absolutely wonderful. The rooms are very spacious and the bed had that perfect combination of firmness but a soft, inviting top. Really a nice property and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had to stay at this hotel a few years ago when we were doing some work on our home. We stayed there again last weekend. This particular Residence Inn is next door to the Manor in West Orange, a popular high class place for weddings and other similar functions. The hotel is a perfect companion to The Manor.

If you have stayed in a Residence Inn before and found it nice, you will be pleasantly surprised by how much nicer this location in compared to your average Residence Inn. The furniture is nicer, the carpeting seems more plush, and the staff just that much nicer. It is obvious this is a really well-kept location.

They have a nice indoor pool and hot tub. I know they have a workout room, but we never had a chance to visit it.

Ever visit a hotel once, and the place is nice....but return a year or two later, and the place is not quite as nice as you remember. This place is not like that at all. Our two stays were three years apart. If anything, the hotel was even nicer the second time we stayed, and we thought it was great the first time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGoltsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here as part of The Manor's "romantic getaway" package. You dine in at The Manor and then stay at the Residence for 1 night. First let me say that lobby is beautiful, the room was nice, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. Didn't have the breakfast this time. The hotel is convenient for those dining at The Manor. I had 1 problem with this Residence Inn - they should allow you to add on a day or 2 to your package. My husband & I come here for our wedding anniversary almost every year (since 2003). We called up the front desk until 9am the day of checkout to try & book just 1 more night. We were told "completed booked" or "call back tomorrow", or "we should have cancellations"(b/c of Hurricane Irene). We were willing to pay more until we check-out & they extend someone else stay for ONE MORE NIGHT right in front of us. After we told the front desk AGAIN, & they apologized(sort of) they offered us 1 more night without any discount, anything. We told them we got a room at another Residence (less than 10 miles) for almost 50% cheaper (which we did). We were quickly told sorry that's our rate & have a nice day. It's sad b/c I love Marriott brand hotels, but don't know if I'll be coming backing to this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebxs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.8 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Totowa
Holiday Inn Totowa
#1 of 1 in Totowa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Property: Residence Inn West Orange
Address: 107 Prospect Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing