We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back in a heart beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This was truly a delight. Our suite was a spacious one bedroom, with a full kitchen. The delcious hot breakfast was a nice surprise, and different every morning. Lite dinners were served from Mon-Thurs..another surprise. The Exterior and Interior of the hotel are very elegant....A fabulous pool and spa for all. Free internet for 30 min each use in the Den..And the staff was very personable, and went out of their way to please. I just wish, we had a hotel like this near us..for our visitors. It would be perfect for families. Don't miss this hotel if you get the chance!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LaurierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2007

We are currently in room #147. On one side of us is a dog barking at the loud party on the other side of us.
The front desk says they can move us up two stories to a room just like this one where we will have to make up another fold out bed with sheets that don't fit and come back down for our belongings in the morning. They refuse to talk to the loud party on our behalf because it is a wedding party.

My son can't get to sleep on the fold-out because he says it's lumpy. Our bed has a ridge up the middle, the refrigerator is noisy, the toilet won't stop running, and the people at the front desk will do nothing but cancel our reservation for tomorrow.

The front desk man says it happens every weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dawnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This was a lovely, upscale Residence Inn! The rooms were spacious, and the property was beautifully designed with landscaping that was a delight to the eye! There are alot of lovely touches throughout, such as a spiral staircase to the breakfast area, which was perfect for a wedding party that was posing for pictures, ceramic bathroom assessories, granite countertops, and a great breakfast buffet. The staff was top notch and the location is central to alot of different entertainment options (with a car)..movies, a whole foods market, bowling, restaurants, museums, etc.. They even provided terrycloth robes.My husband and went for are recharge weekend and enjoyed eating in with takeout from Whole Foods which is up the street. The microwave and tableware was convenient to have and would be ideal for a family.There is also a wonderful restaurant, The Manor , next door, within walking distance.There is an indoor pool and a whirlpool, which is open early and open late. We recommend this Residence Inn!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank library1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

I stayed at this property during a move to a new home. It is located about 30 minutes (without traffic) outside of NYC, 15 minutes from Newark and close to other great NJ towns like Livingston, Montclair, Verona, South Orange, Millburn, etc. There is also plenty of restaurants and shopping near by like Short Hills Mall, Livingston Mall, Route 10,etc. Whole Foods is about 1/2 mile away.

It is also next to the Manor where a lot of weddings and events are held.

The hotel is great! The room was clean and up to date. The hotel offers a great free breakfast. My kids loved the pool and we played checkers and foosball in the game room. There is also a nice courtyard where we played kickball and they have a grill and patio chairs.

There is nothing bad that I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 4Luvmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We had a voucher to stay here through Urgo Hotels, which is the company that runs this particular property in the Residence Inn chain. (We bid on a weekend stay at a school auction.) What a beautiful property; it seems as though it was originally a nice apartment building; the brick doesn't seem new but it has been well-kept, and the rooms are all suites with kitchens. There is a nice courtyard in the center, around which the three-story property is built. We booked a one-bedroom suite with a king bed in one room and a pull-out sofa in the adjoining room, but we were upgraded on arrival to a one-bedroom suite with two queen beds, which were quite comfortable. The quality of the furnishings, down to the kitchen cabinets, is superb, and the service, as attested to in other reviews here, is excellent. The quality of the free breakfast buffet is above that of other Residence Inns (we stayed most recently at the new location in Baltimore's Inner Harbor), and there is a lot of choice. Also, the breakfast is in the Hearth Room, a wonderful two-story great-room type space with a nice fireplace and lots of tables for people to eat at.

The location of the hotel is also excellent; we hopped onto the train in South Orange (about a ten minute drive from West Orange) and were in NYC (Penn Stn) in less than 40 minutes. Parking at the S. Orange stn was free since we were there on a weekend, and our kids (age 6) rode for free. So round trip it cost $17.00 for all four of us. Beats paying for parking in the city, and saves the aggravation of traffic.

We went into Montclair for dinner at the recommendation of the manager and ended up doing takeout from Marzullo's, an Italian restaurant that has been there for years. The food was excellent (including the desserts!), and it was great to have the kitchen facilities at the hotel so we could serve the takeout here and get the kids to bed.

Overall, a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FanofTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

July 23-29, 2006
My two sons and I had the fortunate experience of spending a week at the Residence Inn , West Orange New Jersey. We had a two bedroom suite that had all the comforts of home. The full breakfast was wonderful! It included bacon , eggs, belgium waffles and all the pasteries, fresh fruit and cereal you could want. In the evening , dinner was served! On Wednesday we enjoyed a cookout around the pool that included all the fixins'
The rooms were extremely clean with everything in working order.
But most of all, the staff! I can't say enough about how wonderful they were to my family and me. I highly recommend staying at
this property if you get a chance.
LHG Georgetown, KY

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Lhg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Haven, CT
24
Reviewed June 23, 2006

What a beautiful, classy, peaceful hotel! The front desk knew and treated the guests as though they were family. Free high speed internet, a quaint library sitting room, beautiful lobby sitting area, free computer/printer use, gym, childrens play room, etc.! The hot & cold breakfast was the largest with more options than I've ever seen- it was torture trying to make a decision each morning. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, with two TVs and fully equipped kitchen. The only problems were mild plumbing issues (had to flush the toilet twice), and sometimes you could hear sounds from the rooms next door. I loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
0.7 mi away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
222 reviews
3.5 mi away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
747 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Address: 107 Prospect Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-4202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $158 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing