We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but a good zoo...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Back Zoo

Turtle Back Zoo
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Small but a good zoo...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We decided to take a trip to the Turtle Back Zoo in West Orange, NJ. We had seen the reviews and thought it would be a nice day out. We arrived around 2pm on a Saturday afternoon and the zoo wasn't busy at all. The small amount of people in the zoo made for excellent viewing of the animals.

Fee: The Turtle Back Zoo for two adults and one child was $30. The price was good for the size of the zoo.

Animals; We viewed turtles, horses, penguins and many other animals while we were there. Many you were able to see close up and without large crowds. The habitats for the animals seemed well cared for but some did seem a little small for the animals.

They also have a new kids (5 and under) playground area that is really fun for small children.
We spent about an hour and a half at the zoo and were a little surprised that it got busier as we were leaving around 3:30.

The only negative I would say would be the horse barn area. If you attempted to pet some of the horses there was a very unpleasant lady who barked at you not to touch the horses. A proper sign would have been a good idea but the only sign they had was a small hand written sign by one of the entrances. If you entered, like we did, in the other entrance you never see the sign.

Overall we enjoyed the Turtle Back Zoo and would recommend it to anyone looking for a small zoo and a couple hours of fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    217
    28
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Especially Fun For Little Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the perfect zoo for little kids. Not too big, not too crowded, and not too far away. We spend many weekends in the spring, summer, and autumn here and make sure we make it back for the lights around the holidays. The new touch tank and the playful sea lions truly add an experience that our daughter will grow to love.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been going for years... I love the gibbons and alligators, but the Prairie Dogs always make me smile because in the Spring they have little tiny babies!!! Great

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great zoo and complex!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been going to the Turtle Back Zoo since I was a child but have really been going quite often as a zoo member with my two young children for the past few years. The zoo itself is constantly improving with new exhibits and facility improvements. In addition to a great zoo the South Mountain complex includes an ice skating arena with two rinks, a mini-golf course, paddleboats and a great restaurant, McCloone's Boathouse all located within walking distance of each other. I would recommend spending the day at the entire complex and enjoying lunch or dinner at the restaurant overlooking scenic South Mountain Reservation and Reservoir.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjk7NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is wonderful zoo is informational and the docents are knowledgeable. The animals are well cared for and there is a petting area for little ones and pony rides. Also a snack and play area. Christmastime brings a light show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn92003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Back Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Back Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing