We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun for ages 3 - 9 - 12 and adult we all has so much fun and we only expected to be in and out in one hour and”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Back Zoo

Turtle Back Zoo
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
West Orange
1 review
“So much fun for ages 3 - 9 - 12 and adult we all has so much fun and we only expected to be in and out in one hour and”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The animals - lay out and the train was fun. We will be back this summer
I have told several friends about it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cluxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    217
    28
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Superb small zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A really good small zoo, with large enclosures for several species, such as bears, snow leopard, wolves. Children can get close to farm animals, and feeding the parakeets with seed-sticks is a perennial favorite. The reptile house is also interesting. They have good, education summer camps for the kids too, learn about conservation, etc. Also in the same conservation area are an ice rink, mini-golf and zipline, and the Boathouse on the reservoir is great for a drink outdoors--I hear there will be boats allowed on the water this summer!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not too much to see or do.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went there with my kids and they got bored very fast. The restrooms could have been a litter better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlenS864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to Family Entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Many family-oriented things to do at the zoo and within walking distance to the zoo (zip-lining, mini-golf, ice skating, restaurants).

Helpful?
Thank Zoraya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
423 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

it's a great place for small children and the price isn't to bad .there are nice walking paths to walk around that are blacktop and some are a little steep but the kid swill have fun

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Back Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Back Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing