We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice palce to eat”

The Manor Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Manor Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Woodland Ave. and Prospect Ave.
Transit: Bloomfield Avenue/Verona bus stop.
East Hanover, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice palce to eat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The waiters are very good and responsive, super responsive actually. The food is prepared well, very traditional. I was impressed by the "all you can eat lobster", I guess this is their big dish, as they said before on the youtube video "this is what everyone comes for, the rest of the stuff you can get anywhere." Carving stations are nice. Dessert is very nice, but many of the items are very similar. I didn't really find anything to DIE for, but it was really good. People like this place for the atmosphere, please don't wear jeans here. (although when I was there there was a guy wearing jeans, not so sure if they would let you do the same.) A good place to go with friends or a small groups of 4 or maybe 5 at most. They had many choices of foods, overall it was very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    60
    37
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Food was good but the decor is still the 70s!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Since the early seventies, we patronized this restaurant, wonderful and elegant? My friend's wedding and anniversaries were held there. We go there maybe four times a year and was there in June and a week ago. The decor needs to be redone! The chairs are soooooo old! This does not give justice to the good food! I prefer the Highland Pavillion, their sister restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peony09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rich and decadent”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was phenomenal! We went there for our one year anniversary as we weren't really able to enjoy the food at our wedding. We enjoyed everything! It was rich and delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection, service was impeccable and the piano player was ask derf added bonus! It was a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The lobster buffet ran out of lobster.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

You know, when I make reservations for a 'lobster buffet' at a fine dining restaurant, is it crazy to expect unlimited lobsters as the website promised? I have been to the evening buffet previously, and read enough reviews to know that yes, it is truly unlimited lobster. And for around 50 per person, I expect to have at least one or two tails. It just so happens that on the night my family and fiancé chose to spend my fathers anniversary there, they ran out of lobster at 8:00 pm. RAN OUT OF LOBSTER. At the famous lobster Buffett. We waited patiently for the next serving of lobster to come out after our soup/salad. But it never happened. At nine o clock, after an hour of waiting the maitre d finally came to our table to apologize and offered us a paltry $8 off the price per person. He seemed to not care how upset we were that we had planned this event for months, and that the night was pretty much ruined. Not even because of the lack of lobster, but clearly because the staff avoided telling the customers, the maitre d clearly didn't want to deal with it, and the even began breaking down the buffet while we were still waiting/before the manager said anything to us! Abysmal service, mediocre food, and the star of the dinner never even made it to the table. Will never go back and I will certainly cross it off my wedding venue list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kldugg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not what it once was!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food was awful. Staff was not attentive. Went there for a wedding and felt bad that so much money was spent and so much food was wasted. Stay away from this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EFDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing