We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My recent stay at your hotel was an extreme DISAPPOINTMENT. I expected a lot more for $157.00. The complimentary breakfast was non-existent by 10am and so we had to go elsewhere, even though it was supposed to be available up until 11am. Moreover, when I booked this reservation in January, I was told that the renovations in the hotel would be done by the time of my stay, however that was definitely not the case. The hotel's parking rates were extremely high for both valet and the parking lot across the street. ($30/day and $19/day respectively) The hotel should have at least offered to validate my parking in exchange for the missing breakfast. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay at another Radisson AGAIN and will advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FREQUENT-FLYAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,990 - 1,996 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2007

The Radisson Warwick is a nice enough place with nice employees, but the room was not that great. The first thing my fiance and I do in the morning is make a bee line for the coffee maker....but at $150 a night, this room didn't even have one! I think they do that so the guests have to go to the coffee shop downstairs, but it definitely sucked. We were excited about the King size bed but the whole sleep number thing kind of ruined it. Two days later we are both sore and agreed that it was a very uncomfortable bed. That is just our opinion though, maybe we just weren't making the most of it.
The location is great- Philly is a great town with so, so much to see and do. I recommend visiting the city, but staying somewhere a little less uncomfortable. For things to do in the vicinity we recommend the Continental, Vintage, El Vez (get the Pink Cadillac margarita!) and the square. Philly rocks!

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank katebuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Do not stay here! At least not until the construction is over. I spent 3 nights here because of its convenient location. Two mornings we were awakened by hammering, jackhammering, electric saws and general construction because the floor below us was being renovated. After the first night we asked to move and were moved. We had a great room and a decently quiet evening the second night (our water was off for about 3 hours the second day though... no warning,no apology, just a tough luck if you don't stay here someone else will attitude). The third night construction started at 6:30 a.m.... I am not exaggerating. The front door is blocked from construction, the bellman don't help you navigate to the side door and the overall attitude of the place is ...if you don't like it, too bad.
The place is a joke. Before staying here email me, I am not kidding.
$200 a night to live on a construction site.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fcshivone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed at the Warwick over the weekend while staying in Philadelphia at the end of February. The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful, and the hotel is centrally located ~ it is right next to Rittenhouse Square, known for its shopping and beautiful architecture.

They are undergoing a remodel right now so it would be best to hold off until it's completion. They are remodeling the lobby currently, and it is one of the draws of the hotel. I have visited the lobby on pervious trips to Philly and loved it; I can only imagine how much better it will be once they have completed the remodel.

We stayed in a remodeled room; they now feature the Sleep Number bed in all of their rooms. I'm not sure how much I liked the Sleep Number bed, but the room itself was very nice. The staff was wonderful and helpful in every way. We really enjoyed our stay at the Warwick.

I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thetripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Couldn't fault the Radisson, stayed between Xmas & New Year.
Got upgraded to newly renovated room, flat screen tv etc.
Only down side could hear builders above after 8am, but not there to stay in bed all day. Breakfast quite good, ate dinner
once , very reasonable. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

The hotel is currenty under construction until spring/summer. We got a non-remodeled room to start, which was quite nice (save for the bathroom, which seemed old). But when I complained about construction noise waking us up, we were placed in one of the completed remodeled rooms, which was awesome: free internet in the room, a big flatscreen tv, a comfy bed with fluffy pilows and comforter, and a beautiful bathroom. By the summer, all the rooms will be remodeled, so I would wait until then (to get a better room and to avoid the construction noise) to stay here. Also, the staff was incredibly friendly and professional--we chatted on multiple occassions with the valets and bellhops and the front desk workers were great at handling my noise complaints. All in all, a great hotel (that will be wonderful once construction is complete) with awesome employees.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aurora8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2006

We got a good rate using Priceline.com for this hotel. Our standard room was large, but sparsely furnished considering the size. Decor was a little tired but the room was clean and non-smoking (and did not smell as if it had once been a smoking room). There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

The hotel is close to Rittenhouse Square and a shopping (BGBC, Kenneth Cole, Cole Haan, Banana Republic ) and restaurant street. Location was convenient to tourist sites such as Liberty Bell (a 10 to 15 min walk). We did not use valet parking but saved ourselves a couple of dollars by using the parking station across the street (a 30 sec walk).

The entrance to the hotel is not on Locust St but on 17th Street.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#57 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,414 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Address: 220 S 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $131 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing