We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Reserving a room with two beds was a thoroughly frustrating experience. Not only by phone and in person, they promised to meet my request. We were taken up to a room with a kingsized bed. It took meeting with the manager to get what we wanted.

The hotel is shabby and expensive. Communication services were faulty. It is a birarre place.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank pho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,152)
There are newer reviews for The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,945 - 1,951 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here for a wedding in late July. They are undergoing extensive renovations but don't seem to be trying to compensate for that. We were put in a "non-smoking" room that reeked of smoke and the floor of the bathtub was black. I went down to complain and was told that the entire floor was a non-smoking floor so there was no way it could smell of smoke (believe me, it did).

I finally got another room after much arguing, and it was a nice room. However it was a busy weekend and they ended up assigning our old room to another guest at the wedding, which I think is poor practice.

Finally, although I put down my credit card to hold the room, the friend with whom I was staying paid for the room when we checked out. When I got back to the UK (where I live) there was a charge on my card. I ended up having to call four time, received a terrible runaround, and never did sort out the problem. My friend in the U.S. finally had to get it resolved, but the people at the hotel were unhelpful at best and hostile at their worst moments.

In short, I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jessicashortall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

We stayed here on our wedding night in December. It was so elegant and so beautifully decorated for Christmas! The staff treated us like royalty (alothough that might have had something to do with my wedding tiara) and it was fun to take pics. in my wedding gown in their gorgeous lobby. Located on beautiful Rittenhouse Square park, some of the most expensive real estate in the country. Lots of excellent restaurants and shops in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hipworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I have just got back from a two night stay here and it was a lovelly stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom was also nice. The hotel is in excellent location within walking distance to many of the main stations, shopping areas and other points of interests. We found that we could walk most places from the hotel, we only took the subway once when we went to the sports complex for a concert. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as you can get some very good room rates through the internet.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank startrax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Recently stayed at the Radisson Warwick....in a few words ITS A DIVE!
For over $200 my room had a very old, noisy and damp air conditioner, stained carpets, mold in the bathroom. The fitness room was a joke....in a converted guest room with old dirty equipment..the room actually stank.
The hotel is apparently undergoing much needed renovations. My recommendation is to stay away until the entire place is redone.

Dont get disappointed. Stay somewhere else. If another review say its great, I say thats a shill.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GermainLisbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mass
13
Reviewed May 21, 2006

From the moment we checked in, the staff was extremly professional and the customer service was wonderful. They let us check in early and gave us our room. The room was a decent size and was stocked with bottled water. Very neat and clean, and the location is perfect for night life, shopping and the theater. We were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. the bathroom was tiny, but you could tell it is an because of the age of the hotel. Very happy and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
11
Reviewed April 26, 2006

Attended a conference at this hotel. Parking valet was useless with bags and with retrieving the car. Requested an upper floor room which I was given, however the room was very disappointing. There are no fans in the bathrooms, which quickly explained the musty spell that fills the hallways and the rooms. The bathroom ceiling is peeling off and mold is in abundance. Tried to get breakfast scheduled and was told no one could take my order, after an hour I gave up trying when I was told no manager was available to talk with. The bar left a lot to be desired -advertised 40 wines by the glass only to have the bartender tell us they don't have many of them in stock and to order from the regular wine list. Had a maintenance worker knock on our door at 11 at night to check our ceiling for a leak. We did get a complimentary breakfast coupon for the day we were checking out...go figure we were checking out before they started to serve breakfast. Overall, the hotel is in need of a renovation. Note that the location is great for freeway access and upscale shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,300 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,288 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Address: 220 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6303
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $159 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing