We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ratskin” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ratskin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

The hotel looks nice enough from the lobby, but that's as far as it goes. I made my reservation on the web, as did the person I was traveling with, they had her reservation, but not mine. After a few minutes, I received a room anyway, without explanation. The only rooms that were available at the time were smoking, I opted to receive my room later in the day, and my colleague opted for the smoking room. YUCK!! The room smelled disgusting. The bedspreads were ancient; the room decor was out of date. The bathroom looked as though it hadn't been remodeled for 40 years. I was embarrassed because I had recommend we stay at the Radisson.

On the upside, the neighborhood is ideal for relaxing. It’s less than a mile from the convention center, but was a much better choice. There were lots of shops and restaurants. Rittenhouse Square was around the corner.

Upon my departure, the woman at the counter insistent I fill out the survey, I felt compelled to mark that I would not return to the hotel. The Swissotel is down the block; it would've made a much better choice.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NYGirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    747
    258
    104
    74
See reviews for
363
679
148
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2005

Booked a package deal we found on GoPhila for the Salvador Dali exhibit at the Philadelphia art museum. Package included the room, valet parking, and VIP passes for the exhibit, and was a bargain. Hotel is centrally located and convenient, staff was friendly and helpful, dinner at the Circles Restaurant was absolutely delicious (far above our expectations!), and our waitress/hostess delightful. Room was not luxurious, but attractive, comfortable and clean....a perfectly fine place to "crash" after seeing all the sights. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank tootumsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2005

We had a terrible experience at this hotel while attending the ASI convention in May 24-23 2005. The front desk was rude and very inconsiderate when advising us that our reservation for a king room made over a month ago was over-booked. But they did offer us a pull-out queen sleeper in a room they call the parlor!!! I felt like I was in a seinfeld episode where the manager Dwaine and his 2 flunky assistants at the front desk were convinced that a reservation met nothing and the customer would just go away. If you stay here an experience this situation it is probably because you booked for only one night. Don't let that stop you, call the 1-800 number for radison and complain. The brochures are at the front desk for the number. The corporate headquarters were very helpful and seemed to be as surprized as we were when told of an offer for a queen sleeper. I choose another attendant who was obviously not a manger but was kind enough to verify we indeed did have a king room reservation but it was obvious that the magement hawks would never allow her to check us in. It was pretty apparent that the check in line for one night stays were sent to the managers desk to plead there case. After talking to everyone in line it was apparent that everyone in the managers line was there for the same reason, reservation number in hand but no room and booked for one night. After 1 1/2 hours of complaining and basically making a scene, they finally gave us our room. We refused to be sent down the road to the overflow! I had to insist on a free drink and dinner. After only getting a drink card I warned the manager that my dinner reservation that I missed and the drink card may be a bad combination since I don't drink very well on an empty stomoch. They threw in a dinner at the circle restaraunt with a smirk and please leave us alone look. The dinner at the circle was great so don't believe the bad reviews. Its now under new management (Brian) who was very sympathetic to our experience and made our evening wonderful.
BOttom line, ask for Brian in the resteraunt and do stay at this hotel and make the front desk and mangers job as miserable as possible as they are obviously doing for hundreds of people a day. "Yes...pay backs are OK!" Donald Trump said this at the ASI conference on dealing with people.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pa_rookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2005

We reserved a non-smoking room. The room we were given upon arrival smelled strongly of smoke. The staff immediately switched us to a different room, which seemed fine in the beginning. But then, from time to time, an overpowering odor of smoke would invade the bathroom. Apparently it was coming through the ventilation ducts when people in neighboring rooms (could be one or two floors below) smoked. The hotel has serious issues with ventilation. The bathrooms are not vented with forced air. The carpeting and wallpaper also look tired. For the price, this is probably the worst hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Property: The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Address: 220 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing