We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, heavenly bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, heavenly bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel recently. Valet and front desk check-in was quick and courteous. The room was perfect - clean, comfortable, good mix of furniture, and an amazing bed! It was a king-size sleep number bed, so we each got to choose how firm/soft we wanted our sides of the bed to be. There were some really nice touches in the room, such as a small selection of herbal tea by the coffee maker, and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. The only drawback was that the phone in our room didn't work properly - we tried to call room service in the morning, but got a strange dial tone. So, I dialed the front desk from my cel, they transferred me to room service, but nobody picked up after about 30 rings, so we went to a cute French bistro around the corner for breakfast. Silver lining!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    698
    237
    101
    71
See reviews for
343
625
131
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location great 4 shopping/ Kimmel center and a TO DIE FOR diner across the street.

We had a few 'bumps in the road" but they 'made it right'.

They upgraded our room to 11th floor suite & comped breakfast buffet & drinks when refinishing bathroom across the hall had pungent fumes. They quickly sent bellman and a manager to assist our move.

When wake up call was forgotten they comped our lunch in the hotel cafe off lobby.

Understandably things go wrong with hotel accommodations. It is how mgt reacts that marks the success of a hotel. They receive an A+ . I will stay there upon my return and will recommend to family / friends .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel.

Although there were a few concerns as you mentioned, I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you were able to experience the personalized service that we pride ourselves on.

I have shared your comment with the team and we all look forward to an opportunity welcome you back to the hotel. Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We really liked this hotel, the look from the outside is stunning and the lobby is simply beautiful. The staff were very friendly and all in all i would say this hotel is well worth the money! Our room was average, not great view and not as classy as some hotels i have stayed in but still nice and spacious.
The hotel is situated in the heart of philadelphia and loads in walking distance. Breakfast is expensive to add,,,,massive tip...across the road a diner called little petes, not much from outside but food and staff are excellent, you have go here!
All in all we really liked this hotel and worth staying if you are planning a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_B_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you were able to experience the personalized service that we pride ourselves on.

We appreciate your comments and I will share them with the team. We all look forward to an opportunity welcome you back to the hotel. Enjoy your holiday season.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Except for the breakfast this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. The staff were helpful and courteous and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
It is within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, Rocky Steps, Restaurants, Theatre and Shopping.
The Breakfast problem is solved by crossing the road to LITTLE JOE'S - breakfast for less than $10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDCwmbran_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for this hotel. We are so pleased that you selected the beautiful and historic Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel for your latest trip and cultural experience in Philadelphia.

Thank you for noticing the friendliness and service extended by the staff. This hotel will be receiving a renovation shortly and we are excited about the fresh and exciting look. We looking forward to your next stay! Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has met all of our expectations and more! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking was easy with the valet service. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant, The Prime Rib. It was a beautiful restaurant and the food was amazing. The waiter recommended the prime rib, of course, and it was delicious. However, we were disappointed that the waiter didn't warn us about the size of the "full size" prime rib. It was 3 inches thick and most of it went to waste. My husband paid $55 for it so it was a little disappointing that we had to waste it all. Our total bill was $220, but that was with a bottle of wine, two appetizers (appetizers here only serve on person), two entrees, and one dessert.
We also visited the Tavern 17 lounge in the hotel and really enjoyed visiting with the bartender, Mikey.
We were a little disappointed that room service wasn't available during lunch hours on weekdays. We ended up ordering from a local deli that delivers to the front door of hotel.
The room was clean, but could use some updating in restroom. Philadelphians really like to honk, so there is a lot of outside noise. The location is great and you can walk to area attractions.
We would definitely return this hotel next time we are visiting Philly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for this hotel. We are so pleased that you selected the beautiful and historic Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel for your latest trip to Philadelphia.

Thank you for noticing the friendliness and service extended by the staff. I shared your comment with Mike, our bartender and he was thrilled! This hotel will be receiving a renovation shortly and we are excited about the fresh and exciting look. We looking forward to your next stay! Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had booked through a travel website which offered a slightly discounted rate due to us booking last minute. Upon check in, we were given room 725. I am not sure if it is the company’s policy to put those who book through travel websites in the 'bad' rooms or if it was just coincidence, but I cannot imagine all the rooms were in the condition of the one we stayed in. The carpet looked as though it had not been vacuumed in weeks, there was a thick coating of dust on all the countertops and appliances, there was hair on the windowsill and in the shower and the room had an overall musty smell. After trying each sleepnumber setting, it was clear the bed was broken and we were forced to sleep or at least attempt to sleep on a mattress that was like a slab of concrete. It was by far the worst night sleep I have ever had at a hotel. .
Upon checking in we had to immediately leave to get to our engagement and didn't return until after midnight and were too exhausted to go through the process of changing rooms. The next morning I only wanted to leave so decided I would write Radisson an email rather that speaking with the hotel staff about my unpleasant experience. I did receive a timely email back from Radisson stating they will forward my feedback. I hope they do forward the feedback and take time to check out the room we stayed in as I hope they will too be disgusted by the condition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The Radisson Plaza Warwick Hotel prides itself on delivering exceptional customer service as well as a comfortable and accommodating product. It is always our desire to enhance the stay experience of our valued patrons. Of all the lodging options in Philadelphia, you chose ours! For that we are extensively grateful.
In light of that goal, it has come to my attention that your experience with your room was less than satisfactory. We regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience caused you. I have noted your request for a total reimbursement on your stay-however, I am wondering if in place of that, we can offer you either 30,000 Club Carlson Points or a voucher for a free night’s return stay to our property?
Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.
If there is any other way you feel we can help make this right for you, please do not hesitate to contact us back.
Sincerely,
Geramine Matthews
germaine.matthews@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 100$ a night during the Army/Navy football game weekend. We couldn't believe the price we got at such a nice hotel in an awesome location. The ten minute subway ride to Lincoln financial was a breeze. Also, the prime rib restaurant is awesome and located in the hotel. The only complaint I have is the water pressure is really really low and the water temp doesn't stay constant, other than that no complaints! All in all a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knepplerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne-1Hotel, General Manager at The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel during the Army-Navy footbal weekend!

I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you were able to experience the personalized service that we pride ourselves on.

I have shared your comment with the team and we all look forward to an opportunity welcome you back to the hotel. Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Westin Philadelphia
Westin Philadelphia
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square

Property: The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Address: 220 S 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing