We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the BEST Hotels around!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the BEST Hotels around!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Rittenhouse Hotel is one of the absolute best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.... from the service, rooms, and e mediates, to one of the fastest internet connections in a hotel I have come across in my travels. I have absolutely no complaints about my stay at the Rittenhouse, and if you decide to stay here in your travel to Philly you will not either!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We do try our very best to hit the mark on service and amenities every day. It is gratifying to say the least to read reviews like yours. Thank you very much for your support and please consider us your home in Philadelphia for all of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    130
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
191
268
36
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you want excellence in every possible way, this is the place to stay in Philadelphia. Loved it! The room was beautiful and the service is topnotch. Every employee we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful, and genuinely so.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are proud to be considered the best hotel in Philadelphia and one of the best anywhere. It is truly our team who deserve the credit in making every guest feel welcome and special; whether here for their first visit or returning.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

this hotel is great for my family! someone in the family is very fond of this place! everything is great, staff are friendly and knowledgeable local! they helped me and my family to the zoo! and a gift of animal pictures gave me! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We were happy to have you and your family in house with us. Whether you are visiting the zoo, historic sights, museums or simply touring the city, we are proud to be your home when you are in town. Please be sure to come back sometime soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

In the heart of Philadelphia on the square, this residence/hotel has lovely rooms and views of Philadelphia/Rittenhouse Square. We stayed there when our children gave us an overnight weekend gift for our anniversary in November. We used it during the holidays as we had a party just across the park and it was very convenient. It is a graciously appointed hotel with all of the amenities you need and the staff is very accommodating. Quieter than some of the other center city hotels, less people because it is a residence. The kids came to visit and used the pool. fun! They have a wonderful brunch on Sundays. The event rooms are beautiful, been there for parties, they do nice work. Next time you visit Philly you might want to consider staying here.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms are available for guests as higher floors are residential. Ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It is always a pleasure to have families stay with us. Our location on Rittenhouse Square makes for a perfect jumping off point to experience Philadelphia. Our new spa and health club (including pool) is currently under a complete renovation and will reopen later this year. Please come back to check out our latest amenities when you have the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

after 14 years of staying at the Rittenhouse Hotel, usually 4 to 6 times a year, I thought I knew enough to share. Luxury Hotels worldwide are considered such since they know more about service excellence as the start and finish of a good experience than any other item. At the Rittenhouse, in order, the ambience is first class, the attention to detail is likewise, but the service excels beyond your expectations. Take Paul, my morning server for all visits. A ray of sunshine and smiles at 6 am is usually more than I want, but I must tell all that I have looked forward to his greeting and service at each visit and I have always started the business day, in a mood so great that even my clients (students) have noticed. Excellent people make for excellent results and Paul is the best example I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Rittenhouse Paul, Service beyond expectations. Colin F.McGowan

Room Tip: Get room service breakfast and ask for Paul
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are extremely fortunate to have Paul Lin as one of our veteran Room Service servers. Paul is tireless in his commitment to excellence and has the same effect on our team as he does guests such as you: he energizes the day with positivity and professionalism. I can not wait to share your review with Paul. It means so much to be recognized by you. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Staying at The Rittenhouse is like coming home to a very, very nice house indeed. You will be greeted by name by the doorman and desk staff. The amenities are lovely, and the rooms are spacious and beautiful. Every detail is perfect, and you can't beat the location on Rittenhouse Square.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We could not ask for better than that... Although we have all the expected amenities associated with luxury, we are purposeful in trying to connect with every guest. Your comfort is important to us and everything should feel "right". We look forward to welcoming you home whenever you are in Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I won a night at the Rittenhouse Hotel and dinner at Lacroix at a charity auction. We were excited to spend time at this well-regarded hotel. The location, as many know, cannot be beat, as it is on Rittenhouse Square, which is a wonderful park, and close to all Center City Philadelphia locations and attractions.

Our check-in was smooth and our room was fine. Large, yes, with a city view. But the room seemed dated. Clean, but old furnishings. The bathroom was large with a tub and shower. I loved the bathrobe! Soft and comfy! The bed was firm and we had a quiet sleep. Appreciated the turn down service.

They offer a complementary sparkling wine or cappuccino at the new(ish) Library Bar. We really like this place and have stopped in for a drink (or two) when in the neighborhood. It is relaxed and service is a perfect 10. Love it as a great Philadelphia hotel bar.

Dinner at Lacroix was AMAZING. I'll do a separate review, but man oh man. Talk about service. And the food was outstanding, even for this vegan!

The fitness center and pool were being renovated, which was a bummer, but there was a small makeshift fitness center available onsite which we used. All guests could visit the Sporting Club at the Bellevue at no charge. The old Adolf Bieker Salon and Spa also moved offsite, so there was no salon/spa in house. I think they ARE planning for a new one to come in soon.

Valet parking was $49 a night.

If you have any desire, ask the front desk staff, as they are eager to help!

Room Tip: Try for a Rittenhouse Square view if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Rittenhouse. We look forward to seeing your take on Lacroix dining too... Sounds as if we measured up to your expectations.

We are indeed planning to open our new spa, salon and health club this summer. Please make sure you return to try our latest amenities. In the meantime, we will continue to upgrade and perfect our offerings throughout the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing