We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks & dining divine, room okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I won a night at the Rittenhouse Hotel and dinner at Lacroix at a charity auction. We were excited to spend time at this well-regarded hotel. The location, as many know, cannot be beat, as it is on Rittenhouse Square, which is a wonderful park, and close to all Center City Philadelphia locations and attractions.

Our check-in was smooth and our room was fine. Large, yes, with a city view. But the room seemed dated. Clean, but old furnishings. The bathroom was large with a tub and shower. I loved the bathrobe! Soft and comfy! The bed was firm and we had a quiet sleep. Appreciated the turn down service.

They offer a complementary sparkling wine or cappuccino at the new(ish) Library Bar. We really like this place and have stopped in for a drink (or two) when in the neighborhood. It is relaxed and service is a perfect 10. Love it as a great Philadelphia hotel bar.

Dinner at Lacroix was AMAZING. I'll do a separate review, but man oh man. Talk about service. And the food was outstanding, even for this vegan!

The fitness center and pool were being renovated, which was a bummer, but there was a small makeshift fitness center available onsite which we used. All guests could visit the Sporting Club at the Bellevue at no charge. The old Adolf Bieker Salon and Spa also moved offsite, so there was no salon/spa in house. I think they ARE planning for a new one to come in soon.

Valet parking was $49 a night.

If you have any desire, ask the front desk staff, as they are eager to help!

Room Tip: Try for a Rittenhouse Square view if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Rittenhouse. We look forward to seeing your take on Lacroix dining too... Sounds as if we measured up to your expectations.

We are indeed planning to open our new spa, salon and health club this summer. Please make sure you return to try our latest amenities. In the meantime, we will continue to upgrade and perfect our offerings throughout the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 815 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great location on Rittenhouse Square. The staff are very warm and helpful. The hotel is beautifully maintained and furnished. The rooms are huge and very quiet with very nice bathrooms, beds and furniture. We dined in the Lacroix restaurant and the food and service was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tampapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

We were happy to have you with us over the holidays and will continue many of the traditions we revived last year including complimentary hot cocoa, home made gingerbread houses flanking our tree in the lobby and roasted chestnuts at the front door. We hope to see you again throughout the year. Thank you for sharing your impressions of the Rittenhouse with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We live in the Philadelphia suburbs and lost our electricity this week due to the ice storm. We have a 70 pound dog and needed to find a hotel that accepts dogs her size. We were soooo fortunate to find The Rittenhouse Hotel!!!! The staff, ALL of them, are so welcoming and gracious and made all of us, including our lab rescue Allie, feel RIGHT AT HOME!!! It's so hard to have to locate because of power outages, but if you do, this is the place to be!! The hotel is gorgeous, spotless, grand and in a perfect location!! Rittenhouse Square Park, right outside the entrance, is perfect for walking dogs. The doormen are so friendly to people and dogs!!! Actually, the entire staff is that way!!! Kudos to all of you for making our stay so perfect!!!! The Hayes Family

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rnhwhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We are so happy that you made us your home with the recent storm and resulting power outages. Difficult circumstances such as these give us the opportunity to look after you and your family as if you were members of our extended family. Please know that we are here for you in all types of weather to help you spend time with those closest to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful top suite upgrade from LHW. Had booked a smaller one. This was very large, quiet, on 9th floor. One of best beds I have found in a hotel anywhere. Very firm. large bathroom, nice amenites, excellent towels and washclothes from England. Bath tolietries form Italy. Service form check in, check out, excelllent. Hotel had their Jaguar take me to and from dinner. Concierge was great, and quick to respond. I'll be back. Was not able to try the supposedly great restaurant Lacroix as was some Philly dining event and only a 3 course fixed menu. I don;t like being told what I can eat...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Don,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of the Rittenhouse. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and service so thoroughly. During Philadelphia's annual Restaurant Week we do offer a specially price three course menu for lunch and dinner but please know that you are not limited to those selections. We always offer an a la carte menu and are happy to accommodate any request you may have.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our stay was exceptional. Once you enter the property of the Rittenhouse (off the Rittenhouse Square) you feel like you are entering an oasis in the middle of Philadelphia. The service was impeccable from check in to check out. We felt safe and enjoyed our stay immensely. We were present during the remodeling but we did not know anything about the remodeling process going on. Noise was not a problem but then we had an upper floor. The restaurants served excellent and unusual offerings. My wife and I cannot wait to go back and stay again at the Rittenhouse. A note about the General Manager, Mr. RA who does an awesome job responding to each and every survey as well as TripAdvisor reviews. That is a true demonstration of commitment to the Hospitality Industry. To the entire staff of the Rittenhouse: keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Rittenhouse as your Philadelphia home. We are proud of the many upgrades we have put in place to date and the new spa, salon and health club that is slated for later this year. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel and their staff. From arrival to departure they cater to your every need. Dena at the front desk provided impeccable service and followed up to see if I needed anything. Rooms were spacious and well equipped for business needs. The only item lacking was an on property fitness facility.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mitchel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Mitchel,

Thank you very much for recognizing Dena at the Front Office for providing outstanding service. We are certainly proud to have her on our team and will be sure to share your comments with her. People who enjoy their jobs often do their very best. No doubt that Dena falls into this category...

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rittenhouse sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Philly is a great old city, in the tradition of Manhattan and Baltimore; numerouse Art museums and historic Colonial sites are perfect ways to spend time here. Have spent several New Year's Eves at The Rittenhouse, always very nice and comfortable; excellent service, and the staff is great. LaCroix is pricey but worth it for the special occasion... Will definitely return.

Room Tip: View of Rittenhouse Square would be preferable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EscapingDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Happy New Year to you and thank you for ringing it in with us. We hope to see you again whenever you are in Philadelphia. Please be sure to come back later this year to check out our new spa, salon and health club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $347 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing